Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Inspired by a dress

Feathermani2

I have been wanting to do a mani inspired by this dress for a while but just haven’t had time recently to play around with decals. The feathers in this mani were made possible by MoYou Tropical 06 – I picked up the image using Konad Special Polish Black on my Konad Stamper – then I filled in the colour blocks using Moyra 87 (purple), OPI I Just Can’t Cope ACabana (yellow), OPI I Can’t Find My Czechbook (blue), and OPI Kiss Me On My Tulips (pink) and a small brushI used a thin coat of HK Girl Topcoat and waited for the decal to dry.

FeatherMani4

In the mean time, I added one medium coat of OPI I Just Can’t Cope ACabana and then covered in yellow flocking powder – I put the excess back in the pot and then used a brush to clear away remaining strands. Finally, I pushed in the fibers to make sure they stuck and then used a wet cotton bud to get the remaining stubborn pieces. I wanted to do this before I put any wet polish on the other nails so that the flocking powder had no risk of going everywhere )any more so than normal at least).

FeatherMani

I applied two coats of Barrym Matt White to my remaining nails and whilst this was wet added these super cute and tiny triangle rhinestones in corresponding colours, I added some more topcoat to keep these bits in place.

FeatherMani3

Once the decal was dry I lifted it off the stamper and trimmed it down a little bit; then I stuck it down into some wet topcoat and sealed with more topcoat for extra gloss. I still haven’t quite mastered getting decals perfect but I was pleased with how these colours worked and think this mani really corresponds well with the dress. My thumb has two coats of OPI Kiss Me On My Tulips and topcoat for shine. I am pleased with how bright this mani is and that I got to use lots of different nail art bits and pieces but it is achievable on both hands.

Hope the weak is treating you well!

10 comments on “Inspired by a dress

  1. Lisa N.
    September 29, 2014

    Love the design on the ring nail! It looks awesome.

  2. Craftynail
    September 30, 2014

    Too cute!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      September 30, 2014

      Yay thank you! Hope you’re well. Need to join in one of your challenges soon. Keep missing the starts

  3. Kirsten (Geeky Owl)
    October 1, 2014

    Beautiful job! Love your ring finger!

  4. Catherine Dream
    October 6, 2014

    HA! That is awesome 😀 Very 60s…

  5. LB BEAUTY DIVA
    October 23, 2014

    Beautiful re-creation of the designs on your nails! Love it!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 23, 2014

      Thank you so much 😀 I love doing these designs inspired by things – gets me thinking creatively.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2014 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
