Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky (2)

So excited to have this lovely lady visiting us again – she is astoundingly lovely and such a harsh critic of herself although when we discussed this mani it would seem that I am very much the same about manis that I did a year ago. MO has been here before and you can check out her last guest post HERE; she apart from being a great UK Nail Blogger she also has her own little indie line which I have swatched and reviewed – you can check those posts out HERE and HERE – I am reliably informed she has some new polishes in the works which I am super excited to see! Without further ado… onto the post! 

Hello again PMP readers.

I’m MO from Pretty Quirky and want to say a massive thank you for having me back to take over the Pocket Money Polishes blog for a day.

When I was invited to do another guest post I was really stumped for ideas. No clue at all. Then technology caught up with me and I found myself deleting old photos from my phone to make way for an update. When I was scrolling through my pictures on a deleting frenzy I came across this monstrosity. My first ever tape mani.

***BEWARE…GRAPHIC CONTENT***

Striping-Tape-Nail-Art-1

Back on the 8th September 2013 I must have been feeling confident. I’d discovered My Awesome Beauty and a geometric manicure tutorial that I fell in love with. It’s been a bit of a love affair ever since if I’m honest. Sophie’s manicures are gorgeous! For a first striping tape mani this was pretty ambitious and I was so proud of it at the time…but what the heck is going on with my hands?!!!! My fingers look so scrunched together it’s painful, my cuticles and skin are a mess – and don’t get me started on my little finger! It looks dislocated!

Little more than a year on it seemed appropriate to set the record straight. All joking aside though, I’m actually really glad I took this picture. Firstly, it brought back a heap of happy memories – how excited I was to try this out and actually achieve it, and secondly, it shows the difference a year can make.

Striping-Tape-Nail-Art-2
Rather than recreate it entirely I chose to mix up the colours a little. I can’t remember exactly what I used first time round but this time chose a selection of Lime Crimes: Lavendairy, Parfait Day, Once in a Blue Moose and Milky Ways. These are all thicker creme polishes and are perfect for layering over each other. I’ve got to admit, I feel this mani works a little better on the shorter nails from a year ago, as uneven as they are, than it does the longer ones I have now. And while I love the Lime Crimes, together they look a little My Little Pony. I think the colours used first time round were better. I’m sure in 12 months time I’ll be butchering this effort – we’re our own worst critics.

Striping-Tape-Nail-Art-3 Striping-Tape-Nail-Art-4
So I guess this post is a little bit about keeping the faith. I know I still have a way to go but in 12 months I can see how far I’ve come and am excited to see what the next year will bring. I’d love to hear what you think about this mani and to hear about your own wins, fails and awkward fingers.

Finally I want to say a massive “THANK YOU!” to Pocket Money Polishes for letting me loose on her blog. I had so much fun recreating this manicure. It bought back a lot of fond memories. And the familiar swearing that comes with all striping tape nail art.

Hugs

MO x

9 comments on “Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky (2)

  1. Anne
    October 1, 2014

    What a difference a year makes! So well done!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 1, 2014

      I am thinking MO needs to be crowned tape pro at this point; I still hate using the stuff.

  2. Lisa N.
    October 1, 2014

    These are such cute nails! Wonderful guest post.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 1, 2014

      MO is a talent and lovely person – always a pleasure to have her.

      • MO
        October 1, 2014

        (pssst – I’m paying her for these comments lol)
        Thank you lovely x

  3. Sandra Lewrey
    October 1, 2014

    Great guest post. 🙂 And seriously, EVERYBODY, stop being so hard on yourselves! Sure, everybody’s coming at this nail art thing with differing levels of skill, but thankfully it’s one of those things where you can see an appreciable difference – like these nails – in your technique every single day, which is super encouraging. Keep on keepin’ on is what I’m saying. 🙂

  4. MO
    October 1, 2014

    Thanks so much for having me back 🙂
    I had a lot of fun recreating this I’ve gotta admit xxx

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2014 by in Guest Post, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
