Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

X is for MoYou Pro XL

Posted EARLY due to me being away all day tomorrow – I believe everyone else will be posting throughout the day on Thursday as normal. Will update hub page as soon as I get home but you can use old links to check on the other blogs. Sorry for the inconvenience – back to normal next week! 

Ok so I got a little bit creative with the interpretation but there is an “X” in it and it’s at the start of a “word”… so close enough. MoYou London is a stamping plate brand that I adore – I have actually just ordered four more. Now, there are a few weird things with this company – firstly it is not the same as MoYou Nails although from what I can tell both companies did start out together but split through creative differences it does often cause a lot of confusion about who is who though. MoYou London have the rectangle plates, MoYou Nails have good stamping polish (apparently, not tried myself). Secondly, they (MY London) have had an SEO company sending some bloggers some very strange and intimidating messages regarding links – I have seen these messages, I have seen responses etc and it’s not GREAT and I know it’s put a few bloggers off the company. These things aside I haven’t had bad service or products from the company at all and I love how often they expand their line with new and exciting things; plus it’s really great that they’re a UK brand.

Xmani

So for today’s mani I used Pro XL 03  – these images are pretty big compared to my nails but when it comes to full nail designs sometimes bigger is better as you know you’re not going to have too many problems getting full nail coverage. I used this semi-tribal dot and line deisng today – I was really impressed with how well the fine lines on the triangles transferred (a sign of good etching) – I used my Konad stamper and Barrym Gold Foil polish. As you can see the stamping isn’t perfect but that was more to do with me not being perfect than the product. Stamping is definitely an art form all of its own and I have a mixed result of good and bad days – usually related to how much patience and time I have. It is really fun though and great for people without freehand confidence (like me). You might recognise one of the other designs on this plate from my Pink Mani for the MoYou Rainbow competition.

Xmani4 Xmani3

For my other polishes today I used Nails Inc Pavilion Road – a lovely wine coloured crelly that applies to a high shine finish in 2 coats (a lighter sister to Victoria) and P2 Sand Style Seductive which is a purple based texture with golden sparkle. P2 is a German brand with a similar price point to Julie G or Barrym – well worth checking out if you get the chance. I was really in the mood for opulent berry tones when I was doing this mani – I do my best to mix up my colour choices on the blog to give you a variety of pretty things to look at. Any colours you would like to see more of? Let me know with a comment below!

xmani5

I finished off this mani with some square gold toned studs (stuck in place with topcoat) on the angle commonly known as “squiff”. I really liked this mani when I first did it but now I am not so sure about it – what do you think? Don’t forget to check out what everyone else has been up to for this week by heading over to the AtoZ Series page – which also is a complete archive for the series so far!

6 comments on “X is for MoYou Pro XL

  1. Lisa N.
    October 1, 2014

    I haven’t tried the XL plates from them yet. I do have a normal plate from them and it covers all my nails except for the thumb, lol.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 2, 2014

      Yeh normal plates are the same for me too but I like XLs for large standard prints (XL 01 is my fav) cause it just makes life very easy.

  2. Nails of Aquarius
    October 1, 2014

    I think it’s lovely! Your color combination is great and I love that design you picked! Also good of you to take the time to explain about the 2 MoYou’s (I haven’t taken that up on my blog) and that unfortunate SEO thing that happened.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 2, 2014

      😀 I’m glad it made sense, I wrote it kind of late at night so was a little rambly.

      Thanks for your kind words about the mani too!

  3. Jo
    October 1, 2014

    Haha.. squiff – that’s the angle I always use too! I love your stamping, gold over red is always a winner 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
