Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Dark Metal Lacquer: Refillable Cuticle Oil Pen

Disclaimer: Product was sent for review. I am still camera less so I have borrowed the images from DML’s Big Cartel shop – the review however is all my own work and as ever this will be an entirely honest review of the product.

cuticle_pen

If you’re into nail care you’re probably quite familiar with these cuticle oil pens – you twist the end to push product into the brush which when you apply to your nails and fingers. I LOVE these pens because they’re compact so you can carry them around with you so it makes it easier to remember to use them and they’re also easy to control the amount of product so you’re not swimming in excess (anyone walked around with excess moisturiser trying to find other people to wipe it on? just me? ok).

The Dark Metal Lacquer pen is refillable which is great and means you can decant from a larger bottle – the details for how to take it apart and put it back together are as follows:

Refill instructions:

1) The pen opens up at the brush end. Pull off plastic part which holds the brush to reveal the inside of the pen. You can use your teeth for this or if you don’t like the idea of that pliers would also work well.

3) To retract the twisting part, pull gently on the end of the pen while twisting it anti-clock wise all the way to the bottom until it doesn’t go any further.

4) Optional – wash the brush of the pen in soapy water and rinse the inside, this is recommended if the scents are different or if you take a long time to use up the oil in the pen.

5) Fill the chamber with cuticle oil from the bottle and put the top with the brush back on to close it

Now I must be honest and say I haven’t tried this myself – I’ve only had the pen for two weeks and haven’t finished it yet BUT sounds simple enough right? I use my pen when I am out and about and need something extra. You could easily use this oil for intense cuticle therapy and as your main moisturiser.  I have been using Lush Lemony Flutter and L’Occitane Hand Cream twice a day for some intense hand loving – which my hands really need a the moment (between excess acetone and changing weather). The L’Occ hand cream is the freebie this month with Glamour for anyone who wants to try it out.

The first thing I noticed about DML’s oil is it smells AMAZING – really fresh zingy grapefruit scent but it’s not so strong that it is overwhelming. The second thing I noticed was that this is a dry oil – something I love – it easily rubbed into the skin leaving fingers grease free but soft. I love dry oils for on the go – I have no patience for things that don’t sink in quick (as can be evidenced by greasey smears on my phone). I would say this is drier than the Bliss Kiss oil that I have tried previously. If you want something really luxurious and heavy this probably isn’t going to be the product for you – you might be better with a good old extra virgin olive oil soak.

 I would not make any claims that this is a miracle product but I have definitely been noticing an improvement in both my nails and my cuticles and the convenience is making me use it – fussy products do not last long in my “routine”. The ingredients include some really great oils for your skin (including the holy jojoba):

Jojoba oil, Rice bran oil, grapeseed oil, tea tree essential oil + your chosen scent

and with such a simple list of ingredients you know you’re not smothering yourself in crap. Also, there is no almond or other nut oil which is great for those with allergies – a lot of similar products do have nut oil which is great for the skin but not obviously if it is going to kill you or give you a nasty reaction.

I would say if you’re going to order any of Kamila’s wonderful polishes – HAVE YOU SEEN THESE BAD BOYS? It would definitely be worth putting one of these in your cart too! You can keep up to date with DML’s releases and find more reviews over on the Facebook Page.

Here’s a picture of the polish that is top of my wishlist: Choccy Orange – you can read more about it (and the rest of the Halloween collection) over on Nail-Lacquer.co.uk. 

choccy_orange

11 comments on “Dark Metal Lacquer: Refillable Cuticle Oil Pen

  1. Lisa N.
    October 13, 2014

    Sounds and looks like a nice cuticle pen!

  2. Rachel S
    October 14, 2014

    I will definitely be putting one of these on my next DML order! 😀

  3. Pingback: Recent Purchases (shop till you drop!) | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. Catherine Dream
    October 31, 2014

    I REALLY want to get this – I can fill it with my homemade cuticle oil, instead of using a brush and getting oil all over EVERYTHING.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 31, 2014

      Do it! !!!

      • Augusta
        August 7, 2015

        I can’t seem to find a refillable cuticle oil pen anywhere online in the US. Is there a way to get this pen shipped to me? The link to the site said there are no shipments to the US :\

      • Pocket Money Polishes
        August 10, 2015

        Hey Augusta – Try looking into Bliss Kiss, they do a refillable pen!

  5. Courtney
    January 3, 2016

    The Bliss Kiss pens are not refillable 😦 they do vome apart with some wotk but they are not guaranteed to work after being taken apart.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2014 by in Indie, Review, Tools and tagged , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Facebook Follow

Instagram
Random Nail Art
