Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Sakura Bournemouth: Japanese Fashion and Cocktails

Last week I did something a little bit different – I went with Emma (Imagination in Colour) to a blogger event at a newly opened Japanese themed cocktail bar in town. Firstly, I have never been to any blogger event so I wasn’t sure what to expect but I have to say I had a really great time! Before I get going I want to say a big thank you to the organisers and Sakura – please feel free to invite me again 😉

SakuraCollage

The venue is small but perfectly formed, there is a bar, a small area with seating and tables and a larger “dance floor” style area with a great mural – the decor is just super stylish and packed with great touches – including a statement wall packed with photo frames of various Japanese-y images from portraits to anime to landmarks. I love this sort of thing and would love to have a wall of frames in my room!

Sakura5

 

We got an amazing introduction to Japanese fashion trends with a presentation from Hannah of Find My Style including a look at what has been rolling down the catwalks this year and the wide reaching influence of this culture on the Western fashion scene since the 1980s. The highlight for me was making origami dresses – so cute and a great little challenge for fashion bloggers that had been plied with cocktail shots. Check out mine (please excuse my dirty table… it was the only place I could get it to stand up):

20141017_221133

This origami paper is crazy cute, I really want to get some for product photography!

Sakura2

If you’re ever in Bournemouth I definitely recommend checking out this bar (which is just off The Square) and try out the signiture Cherryblossom cocktail (think alcoholic cherry bakewells in a martini glass) OR if you’re feeling really adventurous they have THIRTY different flavours of sake (rice wine) to try.

 

3 comments on “Sakura Bournemouth: Japanese Fashion and Cocktails

  1. Lisa N.
    October 18, 2014

    Looks like a fun place.

  2. Kairi
    October 18, 2014

    I’m actually planning to go to Bournemouth for a day next month hopefully. It’s not far from where I live either 🙂 And a week ago, when I had some work there, I just new I definitely want to visit again when I have free time. I’ll take a note about this bar. 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 18, 2014

      Oooo how exciting! Maybe we could organise a little blogger meet up at some point!

      All the cool kids come to Bournemouth 😉

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2014 by in Fashion, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
