Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Tea in my Tutu

After I took my foil mani off last week I was a bit stumped for what I could possibly do on my nails – do you every have that feeling when you remove a mani you love and just nothing is good enough? I was talking to the lovely Sarah (Penny Pinching Polish) about just this feeling and she suggested layering polishes and playing to create completely different polish looks. I looked at my OPI Texas collection jellies but was uninspired, I ended up pulling out OPI Don’t Touch My Tutu a white sheer jellly and just putting on a couple of coats to hide my stained nails and went to bed. The next morning I decided to follow Sarah’s advice and play with layering – this is the look I ended up with:

Coffee

 

I added a simple stamped white cheque pattern from MoYou Pro XL on my index and pinky using Konad Special Polish White. I think this look would also look gorgeous with polka dots. Once these were done I had the idea for creating a tea party on my nails as they kind of reminded me of lace. To soften the stamping a little I added another coat of Tutu. 

 

Coffee2

For my middle finger accent I created a really swirled water marble using Nails Inc Stafford Terrace and Glamour Gold with some clear nail polish to break up the design. I really wanted this to look like hot chocolate or swirly coffee syrup. I addeed a coat of Tutu over the top to give some more depth and blend the colours.
Coffee3Finally, for my ring finger accent (usually my most elaborate as you may have noticed) I created two triangle shapes using loose glitter placement (metallic brown hex .040) into some wet topcoat, using a dotting tool to pick up and place the pieces. This does take a little bit of patience and a quick work pace but isn’t actually as difficult as it could seem once you get the outlines in place. I added another coat of Tutu then stamped this mug image from MoYou Hipster 01 into the centre of the design. The small end of the Konad stamper is really great for helping you place these small images – I 100% recommend it. If you don’t have this option, you could always turn this image into a stamping decal to make placement easier. The only thing that doesn’t come across in these pictures is at some angles you do still get a little bit of a metallic twinkle from the glitters.

I was really happy with how this turned out considering I was making things up as I went along and experimenting. Sorry for the pictures being a little gloomy but I was still using my phone at this point and it only likes natural light so I was stood in the rain in my back garden snapping these shots (you can see raindrops on the OPI cap in the image at the top of the post). What do you think? What do you do when you get nail art block?

 

2 comments on “Tea in my Tutu

  1. Lisa N.
    October 28, 2014

    That’s pretty!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2014 by in Nail Art.

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
