Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Halloween at the Fantasy Castle

Have you noticed how many insanely awesome halloween manis there have been all month? I was really panicking about coming up with something good for this post from the goriest zombie nails to pineapples bursting from graveyards (HERE) there seems to be something ghoulish out there for everyone. Oh glow in the dark manis have been incredible this year from monsters under the bed to a sinister possy of cats in the dark (I can’t remember who did these but I know they are on instagram)… I really need to get some glow in the dark for next year. I decided not to do pumpkins or the undead but to look into the fairytale world for my halloween mani – I think when it comes to costumes they are a really fun outlet for pretending to be something else for the day/night and ermm I think every girl at some point has wanted to be a princess. Whether it’s the super femmes like Sleeping Beauty or Rapunzel, or the sisters doing it for themselves like Fiona and Elsa. My favourite princess was always Belle – with her head in a book and a strong sense of caring and justice; so for my halloween mani I decided to try and recreate the journey through the wild wood to the enchanted castle that fairytales often travel in story books.

Fantasycastle2

For this look I started out with a base of OPI Did You Ear About Van Gough which I thought was the perfect parchment colour to represent the pages under the illustrations. Then I took sections of my rainbow nail foil and created my backdrops (I previously used the same foil for THIS MANI). For my woods I simply went for the all over blue-green gradient, for the firey sunset I added in sections and finally for the fantasy castle I dabbed on sections to create the sky and clouds. Nail foils are a little fussy in that they require your mani to be very nearly dry (so they don’t lift off the polish) but still tacky enough to catch the foil – I didn’t work quite fast enough on my ring finger but not the end of the world.

FantasyCastle3

The castle image comes from MoYou Princess 07, which is packed with fairy tale mini images, I used Konad Black Special Polish for all of the stamping. For the moon I added a little Barrym Silver Foil with a dotting tool and then some silver foil over the top, for extra dimension I also added some OPI Spark De Triomph glitter. For the wild woods I took images from Nature 14 which includes a whole woodland season scape – I used ferns for the tips of my nails and some naked branches coming in at the tops. Finally for my bat nail – I took the same branches and then added individual bats – I had some problems with my image transfer here so went in with some black paint on a fine brush to fill in gaps.

 

Fantasycastle

Finally, everything was topcoated with HK Girl to keep the foil in place and everything super shiney. You do have to be careful stamping onto foil as it does have a tendency to move around so it might be easier to add a little topcoat between the foil and the stamping layers. I really like how bright this mani turned out and I always love telling a mini story across my nails – the best thing about this design is you can easily do it across all ten fingers and none of this really requires you to be ambidextrous! What do you think? What’s on your nails this halloween?

 

9 comments on “Halloween at the Fantasy Castle

  1. Kairi
    October 31, 2014

    I really like it. The brightness and the colours and it’s still Halloweeny and spooky enough 🙂
    I’m having some glow in the dark nail polish strips on this year. I’ll be posting them t the blog tomorrow though (or well today XD).

  2. Morgan Etoile
    October 31, 2014

    Your nails look incredible! I love the colors, design, and story behind them. I have on a black/purple ombre with spider webs on my ring fingers – a post with my nails will go up on my blog tomorrow morning. Please check it out! 🙂
    http://www.morganetoile.com

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      October 31, 2014

      Look forward to seeing it 😀 Everyones halloween nails this year have been crazy inventive 😀

  3. Lisa N.
    October 31, 2014

    These are awesome! I like that each nail is different from one another too.

  4. WonderfulWolf
    October 31, 2014

    I love what you did with the foils! Never thought about using them like that. Great design!

  5. Anne Smith
    November 2, 2014

    Oooo!!!! I love this Halloween skittle! Nicely done!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
