Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stubby and the Nubs Present…

So as you have read (and seen if you follow me on instagram @frostfromfire) – I broke one on my nails very low and painfully about 2 weeks ago. I tried to patch it but it just wasn’t to be and while my nails were growing out and I wasn’t using them for blogging I decided it was a good time to test out some untrieds and generally wear what I fancied. I wasn’t planning on these manis being blog content but well they ended up being a nice little collection that I wanted to share with you. I nicknamed them: Stubby and the Nubs.

Stubby1

Here is OPI Warm&Fozzie from the original muppets collection – I had this on my lemming list for a while and when it came up for sale on one of the groups I snapped it up. I paid a little bit more than I normaly pay for an OPI but this colour is gorgeous so I don’t mind. The shameful thing is I have had this polish about six months (if not longer ) and never quite gotten around to wearing it. This is 2 or 3 coats and it is sparkly gorgeousness – so warm and spicey and like treasure on your nails. Really easy formula to work with. LOVED THIS.

Stubby2

I have had this polish on my blog before as a swatch but I was in the mood for wearing this again and as a full mani (as I had only swatched it for blog purposes or as part of nail art) this is OPI Orange You Going to the Game from the MLB collectionI am fairly sure this was on my nails the day after the San Francisco Giants won the world series – their team colours are orange and black so I think that was a deciding factor in picking this out of my drawer. Yes, I pretty much kept delving into my OPI Drawer for most of these manis.

Stubby3

One of my most recent additions to my collection is OPI Let’s Do Anything We Want from the second Muppets collectoin – it’s this beautiful small white and rose gold glitter mix with big white squares. Not going to lie the squares were a little tricky to get even after rolling my bottle, I might turn my bottle upside down for a bit next time. This was gifted to me by the beautiful and wonderful Emma (Imagination in Colour) and I love it. This is one coat over two coats of Woodenshoe Like To Know (also OPI) from their Holland collection. LOVED this combo. My pics don’t do the glitter sparkle justice. As you may or may not remember I adored Muppets World Tour from this collection which I now also own 😀 😀 I am slowly filling in gaps from this year of polishes I passed on or didn’t get around to buying – anyone else find this list is never ending?

Stubby4

I picked up all three of the Miss Universe 2013 shades from Fragrance Direct not that long ago and this is the only one I didn’t really try. It is a deep night sky indigo purple colour, really good formula very pigmented and opaque. I found that in low lighting this did look close to black but in most lights you could tell it wasn’t. I then tried to glitter gradient OPI Save Me over the top but I didn’t realise how crazy dense this glitter was so it didn’t work quite as planned. Made up of super fine silver and holo blue bar hex glitters this isn’t going to be a polish for everyone but I really like this for a party or maybe even a New Years kind of look. I added a little star stud because it kind of fit the theme and I had a glitter bald spot.

Stubby5

This last polish is very pretty and again was an untried but I didn’t fall in love with it. Meet Me On The Star Ferry I think is now core collection and it a mauvey rosey kind of colour with an incredible rainbow shimmer running through it (again picture does not do justice) BUT it is a little thin and seemed to take forever to dry on me. I was wearing three coats and maybe I was just being impatient.

So there you go!  What do you think? Any favourites? Any recommendations? I do have some more swatchy manis to share with you but they can wait until next week! Thursday’s A2Z will be nail art on MY nails and I kind of experimented so I look forward to hearing what you think of that mani and then on Friday I have some more nail art on Mummy Smith’s nails as I share my entry for the #MoYou30K Alice in Wonderland challenge. Hope you’re having a great week – Steph will be back next week but she’s off on adventures again this week try not to miss her too much!

7 comments on “Stubby and the Nubs Present…

  1. Lisa N.
    November 11, 2014

    These are all very nice.

  2. Sandra Lewrey
    November 12, 2014

    That would be the greatest band name ever – Stubby and the Nubs. 🙂 Sending you healing vibes, because man, have I been there.

  3. Manna
    November 12, 2014

    That’s a gorgeous orange

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 12, 2014

      It is such a gorgeous glowing candy orange. Totally love it! Glad you do too

  4. Hands Off My Brownies!
    November 12, 2014

    Meet me on the Star Ferry is my favorite!

  5. Pingback: Nail Polish Direct: China Glaze Birthday Haul | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2014 by in Mainstream, Review, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
