Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

D is for Dark(o)

That’s right – this week I kind of tweaked the inspiration and was inspired by the film Donnie Darko which came out in 2001 (can you believe it was so long ago?!). This is a dark twisted tale about love, time travel and scary halloween costumes – if you haven’t seen it, you should.

Dark1

Ok so lets start with the mani itself and then I’ll talk about the elements and explain. The skin around my nails has been slightly touched up because where it was dry it did stain a small amount from the blue and I didn’t want that to detract from my design. To avoid this happening when you do your manis – add a little bit of oil or balm to those dry points and the colour shouldn’t seep in. As you can see Stubby has now pretty much grown out but all of my nails are really short and I don’t have very wide nail beds – I think this mani shows that you don’t need massive or super long nails to have some fun art going on.

Dark3

The base for this manicure is Listen To Your Momager from NOPI – it is a beautiful navy blue with intense super fine shimmer (kind of like glass fleck dust). This is really pretty in one to two coats and is no problem to clean up – the brush on Nicole by OPI polishes is wide like the standard pro-wide OPI brush but to me it seems slightly shorter – I can’t do three stroke with it as it just takes one stroke to cover most of my nail.

Dark5

My choice of polish for art was A England Fonteyn which is my absolute favourite A England – perfect formula beautiful colour and sutble holographic. I paid the full £9 for this and it has been worth every penny – you can wear it on its own, stamp it, paint details with it and even water marble. I think I am nearly half way through this bottle! For Frank (the ring finger skull bunny) I simply took a small detail brush and pained in the shape of the year with the ears and then the small dashes for teeth, I then added in the eyes and nose hole and tidied up the edges with a little more Momager on the same small brush.

Dark2

For the rest of my nails I dropped Momager and Fonteyn into my little water marble pot making alternating rings and then swirled to create lots of random patterns – these are to represent the portals/worm holes/time travel energy paths. I love how the holo flecks bled into Momager and the swirls are completely random. Clean up was a pain because I didn’t do my normal prep of PVA glue around the edges and it was during this clean up that I got the little bit of staining I mentioned earlier. Entirely my own fault, entirely preventable.

There is an archive page for the A2Z challenge which can be found HERE and don’t forget to check out what the other bloggers have been up to this week by clicking on the inlinkz frog!

6 comments on “D is for Dark(o)

  1. Lisa N.
    November 20, 2014

    These are cool. Love the accent nail!

  2. Liz Krusenstjerna
    November 20, 2014

    Donnie Darko is a favorite movie for me, I love your Frank face — it’s perfect!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 20, 2014

      Thank you so much! Was a bit worried about recreating him but he has been looming on my ring finger all day and I love him. 28.16.42.12 ♡♥

  3. MO
    November 20, 2014

    Eeeeeeek! This is so cool! The movie freaks me out a little but maybe I should give it another go x

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2014 by in Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Facebook Follow

Instagram
Random Nail Art
