Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

E is for Elegant

A lot of the ladies were a little stumped by this challenge but I knew pretty much straight away what I wanted to do or rather, what my inspiration was. My Fair Lady has some of the most stunning costumes of any movies I have seen and the VHS I had included a small making of which went into all such of details such as they had a wardrobe assistant whose soul job was to make sure the ladies gloves were pristine white. The scene and costume that inspired this manicure happens about half way through the film – Eliza’s grooming by Henry Higgins to become a lady is well underway and as a public test he takes her to the Ascot races.

All of the ladies are in ridiculously elegant and stunning black and white dresses with striking and spectacular hats – all conducted themselves with vigorous stoney faced decorum. The best outfit of them all of course is Eliza’s (played by the permanently elegant Audrey Hepburn).

 

As I still have relatively short nails I didn’t want to attempt a portrait so instead took elements from this dress to create a relatively simple but elegant (I think) mani.
Elegant3I started with two coats of OPI Alpine White which is definitely becoming my go to white polish – good formula and the lovely pro-wide brush. I don’t think this is actually a better formula than the Barrym Matt White but the fact it has such a gorgeous brush just makes it a lot easier to work this. Over the top of this I added OPI Girls love Diamonds from the OPI Major League Baseball collab (I will inset below the swatch of this beautiful white shimmer polish without undies below). I felt like this diamond shimmer really echoed the luxe lace fabric texture of the gown without being too fussy…. it doesn’t photograph quite as shimmery and gorgeous as it truly is in real life, I think this would make and AMAZING bridal polish.

GirlsLoveDiamondsCollage2

 

Onto this base I added my stripes in black using a striper brush for the angles and MoYou Pro XL 01 to stamp the vertical. Now, the lines on my ring finger suck but I actually added them in after I added all my small rhinestones which was a mistake as it made the lines tricky to do. This was just me being silly and doing things in a daft order but I couldn’t do a lot to fix it after the fact short of doing the nail over and from a distance it is not as noticeable so I left it as it was. As you can see my stripes worked out much better on my index finger where I added the embellishments after. The stark black stripes really are so striking against the feminine lace of the gown… sorry, I am in love with it.

Elegant2

Onto my index I created a little black bow out of some tiny black triangle rhinestones and a round black rhinestone – I thought this was a really simple and effective way to echo the bows on the gown without trying anything complicated with stamping and free-hand. I really adore these shaped rhinestones, they’ve allowed me to create a lot of different designs. I got mine from BPS – they have a massive range to choose from. I did buy these myself and I have never had a bad experience with BPS which is why I am recommending them BUT if you don’t want to use them then you can most definitely find something similar on Amazon or Ebay. The accent on my ring finger is meant to be a mini bouquet of flowers – inspired by the splash of colour in  Eliza’s hat and also the face she starts the narrative as a flower seller on the streets of London; again this is a mix of the same rhinestones although I used coloured ones these times for the blossoms and the leaves. This arrangement could easily be made xmassy buy using red stones and white stones to be holly and mistletoe berries. I applied them in the normal way – a layer of topcoat and then picked up with a dotting tool and placed; everything locked in place with another coat of topcoat.

Elegant1

I am not sure why that picture is so blurry >.< Now, the best part of the scene is when Eliza get’s a little bit too into the race and exclaims to the shock and horror of the crowd (and amusement of Mr. Higgins):

my-fair-lady-o

Elegant cover blown… ❤ So there you go, that is it for my manicure this week, I hope you liked it and didn’t mind me indulging in some movie fangirling! I hope you will check out what all the ladies are up to using the froggy inlinkz below and if you want to see what we’ve come up with for A-D all of the inlinkz can be found on the A2Z Archive Page as well as a link to our instagram #A2ZNails tag – some of the IGers are insanely talented so it is worth the platform change to see them.

 

12 comments on “E is for Elegant

  1. Lisa N.
    November 27, 2014

    Love the inspiration for these nails!

  2. MO
    December 1, 2014

    These really are beautiful. And Hepburn is absolutely elegant x

  3. Rachel
    December 3, 2014

    I’ve never actually seen My Fair Lady, but these are super cute and elegant and match the costume you showed! Love it 🙂

  4. Gracithey
    December 3, 2014

    These nails are lovely and quite elegant too! Great post. 🙂

  5. Lou
    December 3, 2014

    This is properly brilliant, I blinking LOVE IT!!

  6. Roberta Wilko
    December 3, 2014

    Wow!!!! Audrey Hepburn is the perfect example of elegance. I just love how you used her outfit as inspiration ❤ Such a lovely manicure.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      December 4, 2014

      Thank you lovely! 😀 I think she’s just the epitome of chic – especiallly in some of the styling of this movie.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      December 4, 2014

      Thank you lovely! 😀 I think she’s just the epitome of chic – especially in some of the styling of this movie.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Facebook Follow

Instagram
Random Nail Art
