Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Born Pretty Store: Flowery Nail Art Brushes

Disclaimer: Items were sent to me for review but I am in no way being paid for this post, all opinions are my own. I do not receive any monetary gain from people using my discount code and it is entirely up to you if you choose to do so. 

FreehandFlowers4

Today, I am finally sharing with you this set of four nail art brushes – they are as pretty as they are useful – VERY. Patterned with gorgeous blooms these are the sort of brushes that look stunning in a post on your desk or in a wrap for showing off to clients or friends and at just £2.20 they’re a very good price point (I have actually ordered a backup set with my own money). You can get 10% off if you use my code: XPG10 at the checkout.

FreehandFlowers2

This is the finest brush and is perfect for super fine details (such as the eye from my F for Fashion manicure) and also for colouring in these flowers. I wanted to do something inspired by the brushes but with a more winter appropriate colour scheme. I started with a base of OPI Incognito in Sausalito which is a great inky blue from the San Francisco collection and opaque in just one coat. I took the wider brush from the set and this is a perfect clean up brush – firm and not too broad, it is great for the cuticle line (and didn’t disintegrate in acetone)… I have a feeling I am going to be using this a lot.

FreehandFlowers1

I started the flowers by splodging on their rough shape onto my nail and then adding the colours with the detail brush (all of this is acrylic paint) – it was just a question of building up colours to give the flowers dimension but I wanted to keep them loose so didn’t fret too much about blending or perfection. I went back in and corrected the white around the edges where needed. To add to the folk arty look I added on my small white polka dots after, again not worrying about them being perfectly sized or spaced. You could do these dots first (either free hand or stamped) and then paint the flowers on first if you prefer for a more regular design. The freedom of this design means you could do it on both hands without too much difficulty, of course you could create flowers on a stamper using a decal technique.

FreehandFlowers3

Finally everything was topcoated and I can’t believe how easy these were but how pretty. I am not totally in love with freehand art still but I am definitely coming around to it now that I have some good tools. I do have some stripers which I have used with nail polish before but they do wear out very quickly so I will be using this set exclusively with acrylic paint just to protect their fineness although I am sure they’ll work great with nail polish too. What do you think? I am really enjoying doing free hand at the moment and acrylic can definitely be a more user friendly and versatile medium – this time of year is a great time to pick up some small acrylic sets because of all the xmas offers and as you need only a small amount the tubes will last you for AGES. I would definitely recommend checking out Robin Moses on Youtube for ideas for lots of designs using acrylic paint!

8 comments on “Born Pretty Store: Flowery Nail Art Brushes

  1. Lisa N.
    December 8, 2014

    You got some pretty floral nails using these brushes.

  2. bettysbeautybombs
    December 12, 2014

    Beautiful mani!!!!

  3. Pingback: Vintage Bird and Floral Mani | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. Pingback: Boho Blues, Feathers, Sparkles, Dreamcatchers | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Color U Bold
    January 13, 2015

    Wow this is amazing!!!! Those brushes are amazing! I would love to try out those brushes!!!

    Jasmine 🙂
    colorubold.blogspot.com

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
