Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Pretty Dry Brush Mani

Disclaimer: Bow Nail Art Wheel was sent to me for review by Born Pretty Store, I am in no way being compensated for this review and all opinions are my own. 

Now, the dry brush technique has been around for a little while and I’ve done it a couple of times but after watching this swatch video for the new OPI Fifty Shades of Grey collection on Temperani Nails (I now want four of them after initially thinking I probably wouldn’t want any), I started to browse this lovely blog. During my browsing I watched a few of her tutorial videos including one for a dry brush/distressed mani and it just inspired me. Originally, I wanted this to look like Christmas in a distressed brush strokey blender but the red I chose ended up looking a lot more pink… for this mani I used OPI Vodka and Caviar, OPI Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow and OPI Love.Angel.Music Baby with a base of Barrym Matt White and topcoated with Rimmel Finishing Touch 3D Plumping Topcoat. Vodka and Caviar has an almost jelly formula which is why it came up very pink over white, Here Today… also has a jelly formula which actually worked in my favour in not making the forrest green too heavy in comparison to the other colours.

Bow5

Bow3These pictures don’t do the sparkle of the gold justice! I added the red, then the gold, then the green spreading out the colours and overlapping here and there. I perhaps could have used a more intense gold but this looks so feminine and sparkly I was pretty happy – happy accidents.

Bow1

To add to the girly factor I took a bow from the nail art wheel (RRP: £2.33) in a similar pink colour and added it to my ring finger as an accent – I really like the detail on these bows but that they’re also small enough not to dwarf my nails. This stayed put very well and didn’t snag on very much even though it was only topcoat holding it in place, I would definitely recommend nail glue though for anyone hard on their nails or that wants these to last on their nails more than a couple of days. I think the candy colours in this wheel are going to really come into their own as we go through winter and spring colour palettes and then into summer. I like the number of bows you get in this wheel of each colour – I have never found BPS to be stingy with the amount of decorations in their wheels.  If you’d like to order this or anything else from BPS I do have a 10% off code: XPG10 which you enter at checkout. Born Pretty Store orders can take up to 4 weeks to arrive in the UK but shipping is free world wide and I have received parcels quicker than that (plus I have forgotten I’ve ordered things and when they turn up it’s a lovely surprise).

Bow2

 

This technique is so simple and quick to do, doesn’t require any tools, can be done on both hands and in any colour combination you like. Plus, I don’t think you can actually do this wrong – I am definitely going to do this in icey blues and maybe stamp some snow flakes on the top very soon. Totally in the holiday/xmas spirit now! OH and this technique needs very little clean up – more good things!

Bow4

Bit of an awkward angle but I wanted to get my thumb in shot because I was really happy with how it turned out! What do you think? Are you in the holiday mood yet? Do I hear any bah humbugs?

Check out some more holiday designs with the Annual Holiday Nails Blog Hop inlinkz below!

14 comments on “Pretty Dry Brush Mani

  1. Lisa N.
    December 9, 2014

    Nice design you got using the dry brush technique!

  2. Jessica W.
    December 9, 2014

    A very pretty manicure, and I like that you’ve added the bow!

  3. Tracey
    December 9, 2014

    I’ve been looking at these on ebay. I do like them but tend to pick at stuff if my nails are not smooth. But love how you’ve used them and really goes well with your nail art 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      December 9, 2014

      I think cause these are quite petite I didn’t actually really notice these sticking off of my nails as such

  4. Rachel
    December 9, 2014

    These are super cute! I’m a huge fan of the distressed technique, too, it’s one of my favourites 🙂

  5. Gracithey
    December 9, 2014

    This dry brush manicure gives it such a unique effect! I think it would look wild with neon colours. 😀

  6. Lou
    December 12, 2014

    Nice! I’ve not tried this but I think I will now as it looks awesome. Love the colour combination

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      December 13, 2014

      DO IT! 😀 thank you lovely ❤ glad I have inspired you to give it a go.

  7. Pingback: Striping: Simple Plaid Mani | Pocket Money Polishes

  8. Pingback: Q is for Quirky | Pocket Money Polishes

  9. Pingback: Spring Flowers | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2014 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
