Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Mani Swap With Cubbiful

Welcome to a new week – I hope you’re all having a wonderful Monday! I wanted to share with you a very special mani today – I teamed up with Mina from Cubbiful to do a mani swap. We agreed to take inspiration from each others work rather than do a straight recreate as we thought this way would be more interesting for you (rather than seeing the same mani twice on different nails). Picking something from Mina’s blog was nearly impossible – have you seen the manis this chick does? If you haven’t, after you’re done reading this blog post go and browse – I promise you hours of entertaining and beautiful manis to read.

dry-marble-nails

I finally settled on this striking dry water marble because it’s a technique I’ve been meaning to try out for a while and it’s just so eye catching. I decided to change the colour scheme up to icey blues in honour of the cold snap we’ve been having. As my nails are shorter than Mina’s I decided not to include the white base section and just do three pieces of striping tape.

Cubbiful1

 

On my nails I started with a base of OPI Alpine Snow which is lovely an opaque in 1-2 coats depending on how you apply it. Once this was dry I added three strips of tape – I find striping tape hideously fiddly to work with and I definitely need some more practise. Make sure that your base is really dry or you will be pulling up this colour either with the tape or the dry marble technique!

Cubbiful2

This technique was a little bit messier than I had contemplated and I would recommend applying pva or however you like to protect you skin when you normally do messy techniques – this will save you ALOT of time with clean up. If you don’t want to use the bag techniqe to smoosh your colours you can create the same effect by blobbing your colours on a stamper and smushing it with another stamper. There are lots of ways – just see what works best for you. As ever remove the tape quickly to get the cleanest lines.

Colours used: OPI Suzi Says Feng Shui, China Glaze Bahamian Escape, China Glaze Aquadelic. To match Mina’s finish I decided to use matte topcoat which I think looks AWESOME with this technique. I am not massively into matte but sometimes it is just a great finishing touch.

Cubbiful3Finally, for my accent I used two coats of China Glaze Water You Waiting For which is an insanely beautiful blue and aqua glitter mix – really dense but not too thick a formula. I think it matched the tones in my marble really nicely – I stamped on some snow flakes from MoYou Mother Nature 14 and again matte topcoated. I think Mina is posting her half of the mani swap today too but I haven’t managed to catch her – I think we’ve both been having a manic time in the run up to Christmas. I am super excited to see what she does though, I know it’s going to rock! I will add a link as soon as I can find one but in the mean time… go check out Cubbiful! 

P.S. any tips for working with striping tape? Please leave me a comment below!!

You can check out some more holiday designs using the inlinkz below for the Annual Holiday Nails Blog Hop!

 

10 comments on “Mani Swap With Cubbiful

  1. Lisa Y
    December 15, 2014

    Gorgeous as always Charlie! 🙂

  2. Lisa N.
    December 15, 2014

    You did great with it. Love that you went with a blue color scheme.

  3. Narmai Nan
    December 15, 2014

    Hahahaha striping tape IS fiddly, but practice does help. And tweezers, too 😀

  4. Jessica W.
    December 15, 2014

    You’ve done a great imitation of her original design! 🙂

  5. Setu Rohini
    December 17, 2014

    V lively n Colorful

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
