Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

China Glaze Road Trip 2015: First Impression and Swatches

BRAND NEW FROM CHINA GLAZE for SPRING 2015: Road Trip Collection 😀

Ok this is a completely impromtu swatchathon – I only pre-ordered these polishes on Thursday and did not expect them to arrive today. As the title suggests this is a first impressions post, I didn’t even swatch these on a wheel before I put them on my nails. Opinions are going to be honest but I’ll try and give some suggestions for improving application etc as I go along. I was really surprised by which polishes turned out to be my favourites from this initial try out, I will apologise that the swatches aren’t the best in the world but this was done pretty quickly (I was counting down till my sister arrived home for xmas).

Onwards – I picked up 5 polishes from this collection and I only had blurry promo bottle shots to go on so it was a bit of a gamble!

China Glaze Road Trip 2015

China Glaze Road Trip 2015

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the two lightest shades I picked out (Wanderlust and Pack Lightly) both had this gorgeous warm flash/shimmer in them. One note before I get onto swatches: you get ALOT of product on your brush with all of these polishes which can cause some pooling issues so just be aware of that.

China Glaze Road Trip License&Registration Pls

License & Registration Pls – This is 3 thin coats. When I got this polish I was actually a little bit terrified of it, it is so vibrant and saturated I thought I was going to have smurf fingers for xmas (which is why I painted about 4 yards from my cuticle line). I didn’t have any problems with this polish in terms of staining or colour run on removal but as always with blues this intense I am going to recommend at least one coat of a good quality base coat, if not two. The consistency is good, I would describe the formula as a crelly. It kind of reminds me of a much more pigmented Isle See You Later, really gorgeous, definitely think I will be rocking this come the spring and into the summer. I am thinking nautical stripes!

China Glaze Road Trip Boho Blue

Boho Blue – a lovely cool tone cornflower blue with just a hint of periwinkle in its base… that’s how I am going to describe it anyway. The purple dusty undertone comes out more under normal household light. This surprised me as I wasn’t really expecting to like it on me, I have warm yellow undertones and I am very pale so really this colour is usually a no go but in person I liked. No hassle 3 coats application (sorry about the dodgey cuticle line… I was rushing as my sister was literally coming through the door), the first coat is a little streaky, the second coat really evens it up though and the third was just to perfect it for macro photography. You can probably get away with 2 coats, especially if you have a thicker application. I think this will be great for those rainy spring days!

China Glaze Road Trip Wanderlust China Glaze Road Trip Wanderlust Swatch

Wanderlust – Mummy Smith picked this one up, from the bottle shots online it looked like a super whited out lilac/orchid kind of colour but in person the magical shimmer/flash does some incredible things that really made me fall in love with this polish. I think it is going to be the must have shade from this collection and it is definitely my favourite. I included two pictures so you could really see that lovely warm flash in the polish which keeps this from being too cool toned on me. This did need three coats for perfection, but I didn’t have any major issues in that application. It is super ethereal and going to be a stunning transition form the  snowy pales of winter into the pastels of spring. This does remind me of one of my favourite polishes of all time OPI Steady As She Rose but they’re not really that similar, so just a me thing.

China Glaze Road Trip Pack Lightly

Pack Lightly – I thought this would be my favourite, a pastel peach with that awesome shimmer BUT on the nail the shimmer doesn’t show up particularly well (really blending into the base colour) and I found this the trickiest formula to apply. I did suffer with too much product on my brush so perhaps next time I will be able to do a better job. Still a really pretty colour for spring, very clean and fresh and girly. This is three coats again and it did need it as the second coat had some streaks and bald spots. I dunno, I really like the colour but it didn’t wow me like I wanted it too. I think this will look lovely in a floral design!

China Glaze Road Trip I Brake For Colour

I Brake For Colour  – yes, “colour”… with the English spelling. This is a glorious bright coral, buttery opaque formula, perfection in two coats. I am totally head over heels, I think this is the most dupable of the colours I have so far (I am thinking OPI My Chihuahua Bites) but I don’t have anything near the same colour so I am super happy to have this one. This really adds vibrancy and life and I think this is going to come out a lot especially as we get those warmer days OR if I need a pick me up on the gloomy days.

Conclusion: I was expecting bad formulas because over the last couple of years China Glaze has become a bit tricky to deal with but I am pleasantly surprised – all of these colours do apply without too much hassle, I definitely think on second use I will get much better applications on those I didn’t instantly love. I’m very impressed with the coverage of the pastels and fully enamoured with the shimmer in Wanderlust. I am not 100% sure how many other shades there are in the collection but I didn’t pick up the yellow, green or other pinky shades on this initial purchase; I may well be going back for them though. China Glaze totally capturing the 60s and 70s psychedelic roadtrip across country in a VW van with this collection.

Why did I pre-order these over the other spring releases? These polishes just looked fun! I think the Fifty Shades of Grey Collection from OPI is incredibly chic and tempting but I didn’t see me wearing them THAT much as beautiful as they are. These colours I can totally see coming out for all sorts of nail art AND the price point is lower which is very important to me this time of the year.

What do you think? I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions! I bought mine from Nail Polish Direct who reopen after the Christmas break on the 12th of January.

11 comments on “China Glaze Road Trip 2015: First Impression and Swatches

  1. Lisa N.
    December 20, 2014

    Those are some nice colors you picked up and swatched. I like them a lot.

  2. varnishingpoint10
    December 20, 2014

    Love the colours thanks so much for posting huni

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      December 20, 2014

      Not a problem! I hope it’s useful for people thinking about this collection anyway 😀 better go re-do my xmas nails.

  3. amisha
    December 20, 2014

    Wanderlust and Pack Lightly are so beautiful. I will get these as soon as my local nail supply gets them. Thank you for the swatches.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      December 20, 2014

      No problem! I’m glad you like them. I am definitely going to go back and give Pack Lightly a second chance because it is a lovely colour!

  4. Pingback: Boho Blues, Feathers, Sparkles, Dreamcatchers | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. hayley
    February 28, 2015

    I’m waiting for a few Road Trips to come too! Can’t wait to get them, love these on you!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      Thank you! Can’t wait to see what you think of the ones you picked up – which did you go for? Have you seen the China Glaze Summer collection yet? *drools*

  6. Alpsnailart
    March 18, 2015

    All are beautiful shades. I like these kinda of color palette too.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2014 by in Mainstream, Review, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
