Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says…How to Avoid Your First Day of Work Jitters

first day of workMonday is going to be a nerve-racking, exciting, pushing myself kind of day.  I am starting a new assignment!  January is a busy time for companies to bring on new hires so I figured I would share how I am prepping myself to eliminate those first day of work jitters.

When starting a new job, you really do not know what to expect.  What will your duties be like? How is your new boss going to be? OMG, what am I going to do at lunch time?!  First off, I am definitely going to “brown bag” it the first few days and get a feel for the place.  When do people leave for lunch? When do they come back? Plus this will give me the time to get my desk situated.

As far as duties goes, I am not 100% sure what I will be doing but I will not be afraid to ask questions, take notes, and keep on asking questions.  I have no problem asking my trainer to show something to me multiple times just to ensure I understand and get it right! Plus reiterate back what they are saying but in your own words to double ensure you understand the process.  I also need to remember not to be too hard on myself.  I am a perfectionist and get discouraged when I do not do something right the first time.  Remember when you were in school and your teacher would give back your essay and all you saw was the evil red pen all over your paper?  I would cringe! I hate that! I just need to remember that I am in the learning process and the “evil red pen” markings will only help me learn and grow.  You gotta start somewhere, right?

I remember when I was first starting out I would be so intimidated by upper management.  Once I got to know them and could make jokes and laugh I realized they are people too.  They put their pants on one leg at a time.  When I started to see them more as a person and not “upper management” a lot of the pressure of the job went away.  Most of the time I treated them as a friend, or equal but with respect as a superior to cut the stress but when it is time to get down to business I know when to put the “professional” hat on and take orders.

Everyone has had a first day of the job before.  Even the people you are working with.  Sometimes the older generation can be a little mean because they feel entitled since they have the years.  When I first started out in the position I am in now, people would get so frustrated!  Do not be afraid to stick up for yourself and kindly remind them “Don’t you remember your first day?” If you just be yourself, professional, respectful, ask questions and take notes I think you will have a great semi jitter-free first day of work!

Happy New Year everyone!

Good luck to those starting new adventures in your life!

As always, thank you for reading Stephanie Says.

Xoxo,

Stephanie

 

Follow me on:

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Email: pmpstephaniesays@gmail.com

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

 

One comment on “Stephanie Says…How to Avoid Your First Day of Work Jitters

  1. Lisa N.
    January 7, 2015

    Great helpful tips for the first day at work! I totally know how that feels.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2015 by in Lifestyle, Stephanie Says and tagged , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
