Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Boho Blues, Feathers, Sparkles, Dreamcatchers

Disclaimer: Born Pretty Store sent me the stamping plate for free for honest review – all opinions are entirely my own.

As soon as I opened my review package from BPS I was desperate to try this plate – I just loved how light and floaty the feathers looked. BP18 is a classic round plate shape with 5 full designs and three small images. I actually think this is one of those rare plates where I can image using every image in the future – do you ever find that with plates? you like some or most of the images but there is always something you know you won’t use? Anyway, this does come with the standard blue protective film which needs to be peeled off and is backed with BPS plastic. WARNING: This plate is sharp and you do need to be careful when removing the film – this is the one and only thing I don’t like about this plate and I do find it a little off putting as I have seen some serious cuts come from stamping plates. However, as long as you take care, this is a beautiful and very well etched plate. RRP is £1.97/$2.99 and you can use my code XPG10 and get 10% off of any full price items you order from Born Pretty Store.

Feathers3

So here is the mani I ended up creating inspired by the feathers from BP18. I started with two coats of China Glaze Boho Blues on all my fingers except my ring finger. This is from the new Spring collection China Glaze Road Trip and I think it s perfect transitional colour for winter to spring. It it has a touch more purple in the undertone in person. I did a first impressions review of some of the polishes from this collection HERE if you’re like to find out more!  I used Konad Special Polish White for my stamping and I decided to use my Konad stamper today – I have been using a new MoYou one a lot recently that I really like but like to mix things up.

China Glaze Boho Blues Nail Art

Because of how light and airy the feathers look over Boho Blues I really wanted something delicate and sparkly for my accent nail. I decided to use OPI Muppets World Tour which I think is possibly my favourite glitter from last year – it combines white and silver micro glitter with slightly larger coloured pieces in a clear base which works great as a topper but also builds up to opaque in 2-3 coats. I used three thin coats. This to me looks like sand under a microscope with all the tiny rainbow shell pieces in it. The finish is slightly gritty but topcoat evens it all out to perfection, I am still using the Rimmel 3D Plumping Topcoat at the moment.

Feathers5

For my second accent I followed a wonderful dreamcatcher tutorial from OhMyGoshPolish – I have been following her on instagram for a while and loved binge watching her longer tutorials on youtube! For my dream catcher I used the detail brush I have been obsessed with lately (also from Born Pretty Store) and some watered down white acrylic paint. I added some glitter from Muppets World Tour to simulate the beads on the design and pull all the elements of this mani together. I think it is BEAUTIFUL. Remember if you don’t like free handing on your wrong hand then you can create the design on a stamper, topcoat and peel off as a decal!

Feathers1

What do you think? I was really pleased with how this design turned out and I am already potting designs I could do with that umbrella image from BP18. Have you tried any of the Born Pretty Store stamping plates? Would you like me to show you any of the other images from this plate? Please leave me a comment below ❤

12 comments on “Boho Blues, Feathers, Sparkles, Dreamcatchers

  1. Jessica W.
    January 12, 2015

    Such a soft and ethereal look!

  2. Lisa N.
    January 12, 2015

    Love the feathery stamping going on these nails. I purchased a bunch of their new stamping plates myself but have yet to use any of them. They look like they stamp beautifully.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      January 13, 2015

      Thank you! I have definitely not had a problem with any of the plates I have tried so far! I am looking forward to playing with the rest they sent me 😀

  3. Bethany
    January 12, 2015

    Cute mani! Love what you designed. I recently was sent some products and got a stamping plate too, they are good quality for the price

  4. Color U Bold
    January 13, 2015

    This is such a cute look!!!! You are very talented and the accent color is simply divine!!!

    Jasmine
    colorubold.blogspot.com

  5. MO
    January 13, 2015

    Love the feel of this. The feathers are perfect! And the top centre image on the plate looks awesome xx

  6. Sarah
    January 21, 2015

    Are any of the China Glaze Road Trip colors good for stamping?

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      January 21, 2015

      I haven’t tried them but I would say probably not as they are 2-3 coaters and lean towards a crelly formula. I might try I Brake For Colour – that seems the one most likely to succeed from the ones I have,

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
