Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

J is for Jewel

Note: As ever the full archive can be found on the A2Z Page including a link to our IG hashtag. At the bottom of this post is the lovely inlinkz froggy to connect you to all of the other bloggers taking part this week 😀 

Jewel5

My inspiration for Jewel this week was the jewel beetle who I didn’t know about until I googled last week – these beautiful multichrome bugs have been used as part of fashion and art work and I am not sure how I feel about that BUT I do think they’re incredible so here is my mani…

Jewel5 I started with a base of OPI Uh Oh Roll Down Your Window which is right on the border line of being a crelly and I love the depth this gives! I then used a straw to splatter on some OPI Frog In My Throat (which is the mystery collection version of OPI Just Spotted the Lizard). I am back to rounded shape at the moment as I lost a corner and as we know from last time I reshaped I actually love how this shape looks and also it seems to be much stronger and longer – as you can see the winter is not kind to hands and they do need some extra love this time of year!

Jewel6

Look at that gorgeous colour shift! I spent a lot of time waving my hand around after I finished this mani! The great thing about Frog in your Throat is it really shows off the curve of your nail giving you that shaded edges look as it shifts from the darker bluer green tones through to yellow gold. I believe this is available from Fragrance Direct for £3.99 if anyone decides to go on the hunt!

Jewel2 Jewel3 Jewel1

Onto my beetle! I started by painting my wings with two strokes of Frog in my Throat over Uh Oh Roll Down The Window. I, then, filled in a semi circle in OPI Green on the Runway (a green to brown shifter from last years Coke Cola collection). I dotted in my black with a dotting tool because I was feeling too lazy to pull out acrylic paint and paint brushes. Finally I topcoated and added these shifting black oil slick jewel eyes for my beetle.

Jewel4

This mani DID look better in my head but anyway. It’s a little bit daft and a little bit fun – can’t have serious nails all the time right?

As promised here is the lil inlinkz frog!

8 comments on “J is for Jewel

  1. Lisa N.
    January 15, 2015

    The inspiration for these nails are awesome! Looks great.

  2. WonderfulWolf
    January 15, 2015

    Waah, so cute! Great job. I love it’s buggy eyes the best.

  3. Jessica W.
    January 15, 2015

    I love how you did the splatter, it looks very cool!

  4. Tracey
    January 15, 2015

    Just stunning 🙂

  5. Tracey
    January 15, 2015

    Simply stunning 🙂

  6. MO
    January 15, 2015

    He’s cute! And the colours are amazing xx

  7. Rainbowify Me
    January 19, 2015

    I like this a lot! Great idea!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2015 by in Mainstream, Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
