Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Blue Leopard Print

Disclaimer: Stamping plate sent to me for review by Born Pretty Store – as ever all opinions are honest and my own. 

Before I get into this post I do want to say that I am suffering with a bit of mani burnout – I am not feeling super inspired to do my nails at the moment BUT I am going to do my best to keep posting things and having been through this before I am safe in the knowledge that the mani muses will eventually return to me! So please stick with me!

Leopard1

Super simple design using the BP-L 006 which is from one of their newer plate collections. These plates are similar in shape to the MoYou London plates and come with a huge variety of images. These plates are backed with pink plastic which I really like because it means no risk to fingers on sharp metal edges and also I can easily find them in my stamping drawer. I have been super impressed with the quality of these recent Born Pretty Store stamping plates and I believe they’ve just released a new series of their round ones!

Leopard3

I used OPI Keeping Suzi At Bay which is a classic royal blue and I think it stamped rather nicely – as it’s not a stamping polish and stamping only uses a very thin application of polish the white base has lightened the colour. I used OPI Alpine Snow in two easy coats at my base. I think this is a great way to wear animal print this winter by combining it with icy cool colours. I used my MoYou London double ended squishy stamper which I really do love for these all over nail images as it really molds over the surface of the nail getting the image right into the edges (no matter how curved your nails are!). I do recommend using cellotape or a lint roller for cleaning off you stamping head to maintain that sticky squishy goodness (it is also quicker and less hazardous to your nails than acetone soaked cotton balls!).

I just checked and BPL 006 is currently out of stock but here is what the full plate looks like. As you can see it has lots of lovely classic full nail images in addition to a row of smaller individual images – I LOVE the charity bow! Keep an eye out for this coming back into stock and don’t forget you can get 10% off full price items using my blog code: XPG10.

Leopard2

To get the image to perfectly fit my thumb I used the stretching technique (great tutorial from nailstamp4fun posted below) and it removed any anxiety of misplacing the image and having funny gaps on the nail. The images on these plates are very similar in size to the normal MoYou ones and I think BPS does have sizings listed on the item description. I wore this mani for 4 or 5 days – it just didn’t chip. I have found that the combination of OPI Basecoat and Rimmel 3D Plumping Topcoat really does work well for me and whilst HK Girl topcoat remains a holy grail product, the rimmel is much more readily available and cheaper. The difference is that the Rimmel topcoat does take longer to dry but I think they’re fairly even in shineyness and I love the Rimmel wide brush.

I hope you liked this simple mani – why not leave me some challenges in a comment below? I love hearing what you would like to see on the blog!

8 comments on “Blue Leopard Print

  1. Ithfifi
    January 19, 2015

    Sorry to hear about your manicure inspiration burnout – I just hate those! But you’ll get like 10 ideas all at once, its weird like that! I love your manicure, your stamping looks great and I love your colour combination 🙂 xx

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      January 20, 2015

      Thanks lovely! I’m sure I’ll snap out of it soon, just lots on my plate at the moment. I don’t mind doing simple manis in the mean time – as long as people don’t mind seeing them! 😀

  2. Kairi
    January 19, 2015

    The patterns on that plate are just so awesome! And I like your chosen colour combo 🙂

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      January 20, 2015

      Thank you! Yeh, its a really good basic plate for covering all your stamping needs.

  3. Jessica W.
    January 19, 2015

    This looks so cool, I love your color choices!

  4. Lisa N.
    January 19, 2015

    It looks great!

  5. Pingback: Vibrant Tiger Print | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2015 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
