Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Polish is My Valentine: Cute

Hello and welcome to the first of a mini series I am doing with the lovely Phoebe Moon!  This series is based around valentines day manis but I think these manis would be appropriate for any time of year when you want to have some love nails!  I am not really a big celebrator of V-Day but this was a really fun mini series to put together and it was awesome to be able to collaborate with Phoebe who I have been stalking following for a while now – her Saturday Random Swatchfests on Youtube are a major part of my weekly routine.

You can check out Phoebe on Youtube, Instagram and her blog. Like me Phoebe’s polish addiction really started with nail art and worked backwards into collecting ALL the colours.

Now, then onwards into the mani!
Cute1

I have been watching ALOT of Robin Moses tutorials recently and after watching Phoebe’s video about tangling I felt the urge to doodle on my nails for this design. I started with a base of Nails Inc Hyde Park Corner which is my favourite grey-purple – can anyone think of any dupes for this? I am not sure if I will be able to get another bottle and mine is running out!!! ANYWAY, onto that I started by painting classic Robin Moses swirls using thinned down white paint and my detail brush from Born Pretty Store. To this I added swirls of a bright pink acrylic mixed with white and then little flowers and doodle stars. Really I just played around until I was happy.

Cute2

One tip I did get from Robin Moses was that with shorter nails you should concentrated your bigger designs at the bottom of the nail and to balance these (the flowers etc) I used the lighter colour (in this case white) to fill the spaces at the top so they didn’t look too heavy. Obviously as these are doodle nails there really are no rules!

Cute3These nails are so girly – they’re definitely not something I would typically come up with but I do like how the colours work together. To make this more romantic you could create swirled hearts or swap out the stars for small hearts but since I have a lot of hearts coming up in another of my designs I just wanted to keep this cute and girly. A girl definitely has to feel pretty to get in the romantic mood right?

There are four different looks we have done – cute, true love, vintage romance and date night and I worked very hard to make mine all completely different, I look forward to hearing which is your favourite when we’re done! A2Z series will still be on Thursday for me so I will be doing my final post on Saturday – so don’t forget to pop back on the weekend this week! Stephanie Says will be back on Wednesday next week as normal too.

 

8 comments on “Polish is My Valentine: Cute

  1. theworldofcos
    February 10, 2015

    Love Phoebe Moons YouTube videos! Cute design!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 11, 2015

      Me too! Make sure you check out Phoebe’s design for cute, it is so…. er… CUTE.

  2. Lisa N.
    February 11, 2015

    How pretty and whimsical these are!

  3. Pingback: Polish is My Valentine: True Love | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. LB BEAUTY DIVA
    February 13, 2015

    So adorable! I’m loving all the designs! I don’t celebrate on V-day either cause me and my partner celebrate and enjoy each other’s company every day of the year. Some of my co-workers say ‘awwww’, some cringe…

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 14, 2015

      hehe any excuse for a cute mani though, right? It’s great that you have someone that you love that much! I would probably be in the cringe camp, but thats ok, as long as you’re happy and loved 🙂

  5. Pingback: Polish is My Valentine: Date Night | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
