Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Barrym Speedy: Pastel Chequered Nails

First and foremost I want to say thank you to Emma from Imagination in Colour for loaning me these polishes. Emma is fortunate enough to be an official Barrym blogger and was sent the WHOLE speedy collection to review and her review was amazing. I was going to buy these myself based on that review but she kindly offered to loan me hers.

One other point of business before we get on to the mani I created using three colours from this collection: I wanted to try and make this a totally Barrym mani and the only top/basecoat I have from them is their combined top and base. I do not like this product – firstly it bubbled like mad but secondly I bought it before I knew any better. There is a very good reason to have separate top and base coat products: they do very different jobs. Basecoats are all about grabbing on to that polish you’re layering on top – there for they can dry down to a matte or rubbery look because that surface is going to really connect with the polish you’re then applying on the top. This is why using a matte topcoat sometimes helps between layers on really streaky colours because unlike the polish you’re trying to apply it has that grabby surface. Traditional topcoats are there to seal, protect and usually be shiney – not to hold on to polish. This is why these products in my opinion are a no go – they just can’t do both jobs and so usually fail on all accounts. This topcoat bubbled A LOT even though I have had plenty of practise floating topcoat etc. so apologies for that.

OK onto the fun stuff!

Speedy5

The Speedy collection is a set of fast drying polishes which are all perfect spring shades, they also have a new FLAT brush which I am loving, it gave me a nearly perfect round cuticle line without effort and even on my small narrow nails worked very well. THUMBS UP. There are pictures of the brush I believe on Emma’s review so if you haven’t already go and check it out.

3 polishes

Please click me for a larger view of these three Barrym beauties!

The polishes I chose to combine are

  •  Pit Stop which is a pale grey with taupe undertones, perfect in two coats. Very on trend and I think very flattering for most skin tones.
  • Stop The Clock which is the palest pastel yellow I have ever used (with the very slightest orange undertone), I found this best in three thin coats but you could maybe get away with 2 coats if you’re light handed and use thicker coats. Remember because these are fast dry it is easy to overwork the polish.
  • Lap of Honour is a lavender with taupe understones, perfect in two coats. I am not a pale purple lover but this is dusty and muted and I am very much in love with it. I can’t compare but this is what I think the purple would look like from the OPI Stranger Tides collection.

Dry time was very good and formula was great, they don’t dry incredibly shiney so they do need topcoat to take them to the next level. Overall I am very impressed because these are some tricky colours to get good formula on. I think the yellow will be either a love or hate it but I love its creaminess and I think it works well with the yellow undertones in my complection. I will definitely be investing in a set of these for myself.

Speedy6

For my accent nail I wanted to echo the chequered flag pattern on the Speedy Collection bottle tops so used the advanced stamping method to colour this design using the polishes. I had to work quick because of the quick dry time on these polishes but I think it turned out really cute and very ready for Spring. Has Spring arrived where you are? What do you think of this collection? Let me know with a comment below!

These polishes retail for £3.99 each and are available from Boots, Superdrug and online.

 

40 comments on “Barrym Speedy: Pastel Chequered Nails

  1. firegirl
    February 18, 2015

    Oh dear, looking at you beautiful skittle manicure I realise I must have Pit Stop and Lap of Honour. I already have the yellow, the green and the orange even though they are not my colours at all. I love your checkered nail plus you can see how well the different shades go together.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 18, 2015

      Thank you so much! I am hoping Boots do a 3for2 or similar soon so I can stock up on these. I couldn’t decide about the orange when I saw it but there is definitely something in this collection for everybody!

  2. Lisa N.
    February 18, 2015

    Pretty pastel shades. Love that checkered nail a lot.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 18, 2015

      Thank you! I would definitely have it as a full mani if I wasn’t checking out the formula of the polishes…. maybe in a couple of weeks I’ll do it again 😀

  3. Karen
    February 20, 2015

    I love these polishes but I don’t think I can get them in the US! I love how you mimicked the bottle on your accent nail. Great post!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 20, 2015

      hehehe the one thing the UK gets all to itself! It sucks we can’t post out nail polish or I would totally hook you up lovely.

      Thanks so much! xx

  4. Petra
    February 20, 2015

    It’s a really nice accent nail. I don’t think I can get that brand in Sweden either.

  5. acidicice
    February 20, 2015

    These are gorgeous! I agree with you about using separate products for top and base coat. I also don’t like 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner. We are moving from summer into autumn now. Whomp whomp.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      I don’t think my reply went through on this so I’ll try again. I love autumn! Does this mean I can wear autumn shades and just say I am running on the Southern Hemisphere seasonal calendar? Does it bother you that we’re all going Spring/Summer shade mad and you guys are headed into the cooler months?

  6. acidicice
    February 20, 2015

    These are pretty! I agree with you about using different products for top and base coats. I also don’t like 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner. We’re moving from summer into autumn now. Whomp whomp.

  7. Manna
    February 20, 2015

    I love pastels, this combo is perfect. I’ve never heard of this brand though. Spring isn’t here yet, and I will be SO happy when it is

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 20, 2015

      I think Barrym is a UK only brand, or I am getting that impression but they really are very good quality and value for money.

  8. Jenny Olesen
    February 20, 2015

    Very pretty and great for Spring! I love your accent nail!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 20, 2015

      Thankies! I am so bad at sticking to seasonal choices, especially in the winter after the holidays – it feels like it’s kind of a no mans territory for nail colour choices beyond neutral, grey and blue.

  9. Tamara
    February 20, 2015

    Your advanced stamping turned out great!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 21, 2015

      Thank you! I thought it was a good way to do the pattern without having to paint tiny little squares 😀

  10. kvanderwyst
    February 21, 2015

    I really like these colors together!

  11. Amy Hoye
    February 21, 2015

    These pastels are perfect for spring! And I love the checkered accent nail. This makes me wish that BarryM was more readily available here in the States.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      Me too! You guys would love them. It is nice having a brand that is ours though – I am forever drooling over some of the US drugstore brands that we can’t get here.

  12. Manisha
    February 21, 2015

    Nice review of the new Barry M collection. They seem to be good. I prefer flat brush too. Loved the checkered accent nail.

  13. I desperately want to try Barry M polishes and this doesn’t help that at all! haha

  14. Nadia
    February 21, 2015

    I like the yellow, and the checkered accent is really cute! I once read somewhere that if a product claims to do two things simultaneously, then it probably won’t do a good job at either one. That’s certainly the case with base coat/top coat.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 21, 2015

      Yep its a pretty good product rule I think. I think the yellow is really different, I have not seen another shade quite like it. Definitely going to be one of those colours that people either love or hate though.

  15. Polished Hippy
    February 22, 2015

    The checkerboard turned out great with these!

  16. Savannah
    February 22, 2015

    Love the yellow! I feel the same way about base/top coats in one as I feel about 2 in 1 shampoo conditioner. They just don’t work!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 22, 2015

      No m’am they do not. I gave in and ordered some more HK Girl topcoat – will be great to be reunited with my favourite! I have been trying cheaper options but just not the same.

      This yellow seems to be very popular 😀 makes me happy, I thought people were going to consider it a bit of an ugly duckling.

  17. amy
    February 23, 2015

    I love those soft shades and the squares you did are super cute!

  18. mishka824m
    February 23, 2015

    What is the advanced stamping method you mention?

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      You pick up your image on your stamper and then colour it in before transferring to the nail. Let me know if you would like a tutorial! There are lots of great ones on youtube though.

  19. roselynn787
    February 23, 2015

    These are so lovely and I love the stamping you did. I wish I was able to purchase Barry M, I’ve been dying to try them since I started nail art.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      Awww! i know the feeling though I always want to try Fresh Paints/Finger Food when I see them on American blogs.

  20. Setu Rohini
    February 25, 2015

    Loved d collection and nail art too. V subtle n chick.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2015 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
