Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

O is for Old (with Imagination in Colour)

Big thank you to Emma for filling in for me today – I hope you’ll check out here blog HERE. Don’t forget you can find a full A2Z Archive HERE and to check out what the other ladies have come up with by using the inlinkz frog at the bottom of the post!

Hello! I am happy and excited to be doing a guest post for Charlie (well, less happy and excited about her broken nail!). The theme for today’s A-Z Challenge is ‘Old’ for O. I had a little think about what I could do for ‘old’, and decided on a nail art style that came and went a couple of years ago: the Frame Nail Art. Or Window Nail Art. In fact I think there are quite a few names for it, but we’ll go with Frame Nails! I never actually tried it as I am the world’s worst freehander, but I thought I’d take one for the team and give it a go!

 

The basic style is to have a coloured base (or just leave it natural, if you like!), then paint a border around the edges of your nail. Prepare to be underwhelmed πŸ˜‰

 

Border Nail Art (1)

 

As you can see, it ended up being a bit messy! Argh! My sincere apologies to your eyes!

 

What I used:

  • Barry M Speedy Eat My Dust.
  • MoYou Special Nail Polish in Black (not a good idea – this is a stamping polish and dries too quickly and in a funny way!)
  • Barry M Plumpy Topcoat.
  • A thin striping brush. Mine is the standard one you will find on eBay.

 

How to do it:

  1. Paint 2 coats of your base colour. Ensure it’s nice and dry before you start the next step. For speed, it helps to use a quick-drying colour for this step.
  2. Blob a load of black polish (or acrylic paint – acrylic paint is probably much, much better for this – now I am cursing myself for not having thought of this before!) onto a piece of paper. Take your striping brush, and get a generous amount on (but not so much that the width of your frames will go crazy, like mine!).
  3. Carefully run your striping brush along the edges of your nails. I tried to start with the two sides first, and finish up with the cuticle line and the tip of the nail. Try and do it in just one swipe (unlike me – each go got worse!!), and resist the urge to go too quickly.
  4. Once you are done, wait til the design is quite dry, and use a nice, smudge-proof topcoat to seal it all in and smooth over imperfections. Barry M Plumpy Topcoat is great for not smudging nail art!

Now I might suggest that you Google such terms as ‘Frame Nails’ or ‘Border Nail Art’ to get true inspiration, unlike my rather messy attempt! Perhaps I won’t give up the day job, right?!

Big thank you to Charlie for having my guest on her blog, and sending her wellwishes for her nail to get better! πŸ˜›

6 comments on “O is for Old (with Imagination in Colour)

  1. Tracey
    February 19, 2015

    Pretty x

  2. Lisa N.
    February 20, 2015

    Awesome border nails!

  3. MO
    February 22, 2015

    Love it. Have never been able to do it 😫 You’ve encouraged me to try though x

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 22, 2015

      Hehe I am still too scared but I think Emma did a great job. Can’t wait to see yours!

  4. Catherine Dream
    February 25, 2015

    Love Emma’s nails! Look cartoon-ish and v. cool.

  5. Cindi
    February 26, 2015

    I’ve never tired it either. Too intimidating for me. I’ll stick with dots.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2015 by in Guest Post, Nail Art and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
