Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Turquoise and Dreamcatcher Nails

Turquoise5

This mani was just something I wanted to do and when I get that sort of idea in my head I have to follow through! I love me some water spotted and decided that today was the day to finally pair it with turquoise (which is the first way I ever saw the technique used). I started with a base of China Glaze Aquadelic which is a perfect 1-2 coat aqua/turquoise colour. Over the top of this I used a very thin coat of LA Colors Crowd Surfin which is an amazing shimmer and micro flakie topper that I WON (EEEEEEEEEE) from Nail Lacquer UK’s giveaway.

la-girl-nail-polish-swatches-and-review-41

Here’s one of the stunning shots that Ave got of this polish – you can see more HERE. According to the post these polishes are available HERE for under £3.

Turquoise2

Here is the wonderful Nails Inc New York Noir which is my go to black polish for watermarbling/water spotting. This was one of the freebies from Glamour Magazine. If they do something similar I definitely recommend picking up some of these basic colours as they do come in handy and work out extremely inexpensive with the magazines!

Turquoise3

SPARKLES! I stamped this lil dream catcher from BP41 which fits well on even my small nails! I added a small yellow rhinestone to the center (trying to match up with some of the gold sparkles in Crowd Surfin) and then I added a column of teeny tiny amber colours triangle rhinestones down my middle finger. All of these were applied with topcoat and then topcoated over to seal them in place. I loved this mani so much I did do it on both hands and I managed to do my second hand completely in 15 minutes (dinner was being served). I adore the opal flecks in this design and really enjoy my little rhinestones.

Turquoise1

I *think* the triangles are 1mm but I cannot find them on BPS (which is where I bought mine) but HERE is a link to the 2mm ones for anyone interested in the stones! Don’t forget that for anything full price you can get 10% off with the code XPG10

So what do you think? I have been in a funk the last week or so and I feel like I am finally getting my mojo back. I want to say a thanks to Ave too for the LA Colors – it is so nice to try out this brand and I was really impressed with the polish I used for this mani, looking forward to the others! What was on your nails this weekend?

50 comments on “Turquoise and Dreamcatcher Nails

  1. acidicice
    February 23, 2015

    That L.A. Girl is absolutely stunning! I’m going to look out for it in stores! I love how the mani turned out and the studs do like like 1 mm studs to me. I really must get my A into G and try a waterspotted mani!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      Oooo if you do I’d love to see the results! Water spotted is soooo much easier than water marbling and because it’s not a specific pattern you can get most of your fingers done with one round. Also if you get too much black anywhere just take a cotton bud and some remover and lightly take some off 😀

  2. Manna
    February 23, 2015

    I love the water spotted nails, they look like marble. Gorgeous!

  3. karen
    February 23, 2015

    So beautiful, Charlie! And I love the dream catcher stamp!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      Me too! I didn’t do the best job with placement but I like the fact it fits on my nails without being too small. Born Pretty Store did such a good job with their new plates in my opinion and they’re so affordable.

  4. Tracey
    February 23, 2015

    Love this, the colour is so beautiful x

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      Thank you Tracey! It is very similar to the LA Colors polish I also won with Nail Lacquer UK’s give away, just slightly less green in it. The CG has a great formula and application so highly recommend if you’re in the market for one. I get mind from NPD for £3.95.

  5. Jenny Olesen
    February 23, 2015

    I love the dream catcher accent with the rhinestone. It plays off the sparkle in the polish perfectly! Really nice!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      Aww thank you so much lovely ❤ Weirdly the triangle rhinestones don't look as good in the photos as I think they do in person. But now I want to rhinestone ALL THE THINGS. Glad you like the dreamcatcher 😀

  6. Lisa N.
    February 23, 2015

    That looks so good! The black and turquoise reminds me of a stone too.

  7. lillosgann
    February 23, 2015

    Congrats on the win! You made it look great 😀

  8. Lo F (BruisedUpDollie)
    February 23, 2015

    Love this look. I just removed a soak off gel manicure, i was away in the woods for the weekend and needed something to protect the pretties.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 23, 2015

      Ooo I hope you had a great time! Definitely need to protect your nails when out and about 🙂

  9. Mina
    February 23, 2015

    These are so cool! Watermarbling is a real pain but waterspotted manis are more… manageable 😉 hehehe
    The polish itself is gorgeous, absolutely!

  10. Is that LA Colors available in the states?!

  11. Katey V.
    February 24, 2015

    The water spotted looks really neat! I love turquoise!

  12. Alpsnailart
    February 24, 2015

    Lovely mani. I liked how your paired the beautiful shade with water spotted design. I tried water spotting once but could not complete it. I am allergic to deo or any perfumery smell so i decided not to attempt it again! Hope i can do it some other way..

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 24, 2015

      You can just put pure alcohol in a little spray bottle 🙂 That will work just fine as it’s the alcohol that causes the reaction and the misting that causes the pattern.

  13. Shawna
    February 24, 2015

    i think these are gorgeous!! My nails were fickle this weekend because I had a ton of polishes to swatch 😛

  14. Petra
    February 24, 2015

    Turquoise nails are awesome! And I liked that you paired it with a dreamcatcher. On my nails are sadly only lots of swatches this weekend so I can’t keep a mani for too long.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 24, 2015

      Awwww – it is hard with swatches, reviews and other blogger activities to keep these things on for very long but it is nice when we do.

  15. Nadia
    February 24, 2015

    Gorgeous nails! They look just like turquoise stones, I love them! The flakie topper looks really amazing.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 24, 2015

      It is!!! I can’t wait to try layering it over different colours, I think the base it sheer enough that it will be awesome.

  16. Sumeet
    February 24, 2015

    Super cool mani! That flakie topper is really interesting!

  17. Really creative and super pretty! Love this!

  18. Polished Hippy
    February 25, 2015

    This is amazing! I had no idea that LA Girl made flakie polishes! It is perfect for this mani.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 25, 2015

      I didn’t really know much about the brand other than what I had seen posted in nail groups – definitely will be looking at investing in a couple more I think.

  19. Savannah
    February 25, 2015

    That LA girl has been on my wishlist forever and I kind of forgot about it, but you’ve reminded me how gorgeous it is! I love the black water spotting over the turquoise. It’s like the jewelry 😆

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 25, 2015

      GET ON IT! I am not massively into flakies if I am honest but Crowd Surfin is amazing. Thank you ❤

  20. Amy Hoye
    February 25, 2015

    These are really cool! I love the whole Southwest theme. Great job!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 25, 2015

      Thank you! I am obsessed with the whole southwest thing…. even though I live in the southwest of England 😛

  21. Anita@StyleThoseNails
    February 25, 2015

    Beautiful mani

  22. roselynn787
    February 25, 2015

    Beautiful design. Everything from the dreamcatcher to the color scheme is so perfect and creative.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 25, 2015

      Awww thats so lovely of you! ❤ ❤ ❤ I was heartbroken when I had to take this mani off.

  23. Mandy
    February 27, 2015

    I love how this came together. Especially the stamp with the tourqoise!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      Thank you lovely! Is it bad I really just want to do these nails again? OOOO I wonder if I could do the same design just in a different colour, maybe for A2Z next week.

  24. MO
    February 27, 2015

    Hooray that you’re getting your mojo back. These are really gorgeous. I’m gonna trawl through your water spotted manis for tips. It eludes me x

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      I will try and make you a video – I think Bite No More just posted a video too 😀 I can imagine you doing some awesome water spot manis!

  25. Emma
    February 27, 2015

    As I said when I saw you 😉 I LOVE these!! xx

  26. Lisa
    February 28, 2015

    You know how much I love this. I’ve still not mastered the turquoise water marble yet. But you inspire me to keep trying!!! ❤️

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      DO IT 😀 WATER SPOT ALL THE THINGS. Seriously, I might just keep doing water spot manis, I love them so much and aside from the clean up they are super duper quick.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2015 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
