Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

P is for Pale

Pale2

This was the first idea when I read the prompt for this week but I actually didn’t do this mani at first – I did another mani which I will share with you at some point – but this idea kept lingering so here is what I spent an hour and a half doing on Wednesday afternoon. The first thing that came to mind with the word “pale” is myself. I am super pale – I don’t really go outside a lot (shocker I know), I thought to contrast I would use a sunshine yellow (OPI I Just Can’t Cope-acabana) and add some pretty tanned ladies. I do want to apologise for my dry skin but between acne treatment and the weather my skin is suffering big time at the moment. All of the painting was done with acrylic paints and my fine detail brush from Born Pretty Store (I cannot recommend the set enough, even if you only get it for this brush).

Pale1

I have been watching a lot of Robin Moses on Youtube lately and definitely working on building up my layers of shade and highlighting to bring out shapes and details without having to paint too much (which is really important on teeny tiny nails like this). Is it vain to paint yourself on your nails? I thought I would do another mini tutorial for the ladies in case any of you want to give it a go yourself. This really is just basic shapes the tricky part is how small those shapes are – make sure you have a good brush and to get the paint to work for you make sure you thin it down with water. Remember with acrylic paint it’s really easy to remove with alcohol if it all goes horribly wrong OR you can just paint over it.

WomenTutorial

I suppose my nails didn’t really end up being very pale themselves but definitely capture my ghosty whiteness! Don’t forget to check out what all the other lovely ladies have been up to using the froggy inlinkz below and checking out our #A2ZNails on IG! There is a full archive for this challenge available HERE.

36 comments on “P is for Pale

  1. Tracey
    February 26, 2015

    This is stunning and such a clever idea x

  2. Lisa N.
    February 26, 2015

    Awesome job on these!

  3. Mina
    February 26, 2015

    These are the cutest!!!!!! Loved them right when I saw them – just fab, dear πŸ™‚

  4. Sasha
    February 27, 2015

    That is absolutely amazing!!! I can’t draw to save my life, but I guess practice makes perfect right? lol

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      Yeh definitely – I found breaking it down into shapes and tones kept me from over thinking it and trying to do too much too fast. I need more freehand practise but I like how these turned out.

  5. acidicice
    February 27, 2015

    Nah. I don’t think it’s vain at all. You did a great job!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      Thank you πŸ˜€ I challenge everyone to paint themselves on a nail – it is actually quite good fun!

  6. Karen
    February 27, 2015

    Such a cute interpretation of this prompt.

  7. Anita@StyleThoseNails
    February 27, 2015

    I love this nailart. I love robin. I also liked your tutorial. How you made it ?

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      I just doodled it up in paint on my laptop. I copied the previous step and then just added the next layer on top. I am not very good at fancy computer doodles hehe but thought this got the idea across.

  8. nakedwithoutpolish
    February 27, 2015

    WOW!! Portraits on nails always blow my mind. You did a wonderful job with these!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      Thank you so much! The only downside to this design is on yourself unless you’re really good with your non-dominant hand its hard to do matching hands. So I went for bright glitter over yellow on cindy πŸ™‚ You should definitely have a go though – would love to see lots of people doing self-portraits, could be a fun lil collab.

  9. Jenny Olesen
    February 27, 2015

    I love how you put in pictures of the brake down of how you drew the ladies! It made me think that maybe someday I could actually do something like that. :0)

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      You could totally do it! I have faith in you πŸ˜€ Robin Moses recommends practising things on paper first but I generally dive right in and hope for the best πŸ˜›

  10. blimbo2005
    February 27, 2015

    Your tiny figures are amazing! Trying to size my art on my nails is such a huge issue for me. Thanks for the tutorial.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      You’re super welcome – I hope it helps! Definitely share a picture if you have a go πŸ˜€

  11. Manna
    February 27, 2015

    This is cute πŸ™‚ I’m also super pale. When I go swimming I use 100spf LOL

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 27, 2015

      LOL Yeh, I always look for the biggest number possible. I do actually tan if I am out in the sun but I duno, being “tanned” or not doesn’t bother me.

  12. Savvy
    February 27, 2015

    These came out amazing! I wish i could draw now. Maybe one day.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      Just try it and keep practising πŸ˜€ if you look at my nails these are far from perfect but its really easy to be overly critical when something is this tiny the details don’t matter so much πŸ™‚

  13. AS (@PolishedHippy)
    February 28, 2015

    That is amazing! My hands shake too much for this level of nail art but I can relate to the pale.

  14. Amy Hoye
    February 28, 2015

    This is adorable. Such a clever idea, I love it!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      Thank you lovely! πŸ˜€ it made me smile anyway – sometimes its good to do something just because it’s fun.

  15. Blingfinger
    February 28, 2015

    Great job, looks like a difficult design.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      February 28, 2015

      Hehe I think it looks trickier than it is, the teeny dots for eyes and lips were the hardest bit.

  16. Shawna
    March 1, 2015

    How creative!!! I love these!!

  17. mishka824m
    March 2, 2015

    Completely adorable. I love your self-portrait!! πŸ™‚

  18. Catherine Dream
    March 3, 2015

    Oh these are the coolest!

    And I’m pale as hell too.

  19. Pingback: Spring Flowers | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
