Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

The Final Frontier (starring Mummy Smith)

Before I forget, I have added a new feature to the bottom of my post which will list all of the tools and products I used for the mani – please let me know if you like this!
Galaxy1

I wasn’t actually planning on having Mum’s nails on the blog again for a little while (you can see her nails last week HERE) but this weekend’s mani turned out so great I really wanted to share it. I had planned out an owl themed design for this weekend but Mum had seen a spacey one on my theme and decided that was what she wanted. I was raised on a lot of scifi and have always wanted to do a galaxy manicure but I have been waaay too chicken to try. The challenge was set and I hope you like how this turned out. One thing I till say now: clean up of the glitter was a nightmare and I 100% recommend using pva or whatever to just make clean up a lot quicker and easier. Please forgive anyway wayward sparklies – these have since washed off the skin.

Galaxy3

A lot of dark galaxy manis I have seen (pastels are obviously very different) usually start with either a black or a nearly black base. I wanted this galaxy to be more blue so I started with a base of OPI… Eurso Euro. Onto this I sponged some La Femme Silver Glitter and H&M Did I Tell You? (see this glitter used in another spacey mani HERE). I sponged because I didn’t want a lot of dry time before the next step and it meant I could get a glitter density I was happy with really easily as the sponge absorbs a lot of the clear base from these polishes.

Galaxy4

Over this base I sponged some white acrylic – I chose to do this in acrylic because it dries quickly on the nail and it is easy to alter the opacity by adding water. You can do this in white nail polish if you prefer, a lot of galaxy manis do. I sponged in random arcs so create the form and once this was dry the fun really got started. I used Barrym Blue Grape (bright royal blue), OPI Bouquet of Violets (mid tone purple) and Illamasqua Collide (neon pink) to build up my space colours – it was fun blending and splodging. If you go to far you can always re-add some white acrylic and build up again. On the purple sections I used a very thin coat of Max Factor Fantasy Fire for some magical sparkle and then added some more glitter on top of my nebulas because ermm space is all about the stars and dust.

Galaxy2

The final step was to add some acrylic white stars and dots – I did simple cross forms on the majority of the nails and then more starburst designs on the thumbs. The best thing about galaxies is it is actually pretty hard to  get it wrong and you can add whatever features you like. I topcoated with HK Girl to seal everything in, even up the texture and add incredible shine. These babies catch the light and I was actually pretty jealous of Mum’s nails all weekend… These nails did take over an hour to do BUT it was my first time so I was figuring out the best way to do things and there are quite a few layers involved so I did want to leave a good amount of dry time – remember sponge will pull up polish if it isn’t dry. Have you tried this technique? What are your tips and tricks?

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

  • White Acrylic Paint
  • Latex Free Make-up Sponge
  • Fine Detail Brush
  • Rimmel Nail Nurse Basecoat
  • Glisten&Glow HK Girl Topcoat

 

Products:

  • OPI Eurso Euro
  • OPI Bouquet of Violets
  • H&M Did I Tell You?
  • La Femme Silver Glitter
  • Max Factor Fantasy Fire
  • Barrym Blue Grape
  • Illamasqua Collide
41 comments on “The Final Frontier (starring Mummy Smith)

  1. Lisa N.
    March 3, 2015

    Such pretty galaxy nails these are!

  2. Catherine Dream
    March 3, 2015

    They’re gorgeous! Good on Mummy Smith for requesting galaxies. I loooooove Galaxy nails.

    When I do them I actually don’t use much glitter, so the cleanup is easier I suppose. Is that a tip? ; )

    I love how much purple you used!

  3. Blingfinger
    March 4, 2015

    Very pretty galaxy!

  4. Karen
    March 4, 2015

    This is so pretty! I still haven’t done Galaxy nails but I really need to!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 4, 2015

      It was a lot more fun than I thought it would be to be honest, I find these “no rules” techniques kind of stressful (much prefer things I can follow step my step, copying each little line). Looking forward to doing this again though! Definitely give it a shot!

  5. Sumeet
    March 4, 2015

    Gorgeous galaxy nails!

  6. Tracey
    March 4, 2015

    This looks stunning, as do your Mum’s nails x

  7. Jenny Olesen
    March 4, 2015

    This is very pretty! I haven’t done galaxy nails before but I think I have to try it. Very nice!

  8. Nadia MamaHeartsPolish
    March 4, 2015

    I have yet to do a galaxy mani but I love that you started with a blue base, it makes it look more brighter.

  9. kvanderwyst
    March 5, 2015

    You really do get such a galaxy feel from this mani. Great job!

  10. Polished Techie
    March 5, 2015

    that’s a gorgeous Mani 🙂

  11. Polished Hippy
    March 5, 2015

    That’s one of the best galaxy manis I have seen! The background colors turned out especially well.

  12. Lo F (BruisedUpDollie)
    March 5, 2015

    Beautiful, I love galaxy nails!

  13. Makenna
    March 5, 2015

    Great job! I love how this turned out, galaxy nails are my favorites 🙂

  14. Amanda Rieter
    March 5, 2015

    I haven’t done any galaxy nails yet. I need more time in my life for all my nail art inspirations! Very nice job!

  15. Alpsnailart
    March 6, 2015

    Firstly, its adorable to see you enjoy doing your mom’s mani. There is women’s day contest by Scr2ch on facebook where you have to submit mani done on your mother or grandma nails. You should definitely share it with them. I will tag you on that post. Secondly, I liked the product listing tool. It will be more effective if you can have option to add links to buy wherever you can. Specially for things like Brush, stamping plates etc.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 6, 2015

      I will add hyperlinks to the next one for the items – thats a good idea! You’re the first person to give me feedback on it so thank you!!!
      Thanks for pointing me towards the women’s day thing too! x

      • Alpsnailart
        March 18, 2015

        Your Welcome. I see you have started adding product links in your subsequent posts, and it looks great.

  16. Manna
    March 6, 2015

    I LOVE galaxy nails so very much. These are great, and I like your new products used section

  17. roselynn787
    March 6, 2015

    I absolutely love galaxy manis. This came out beautifully.

  18. Savannah
    March 6, 2015

    I love this! I showed my mom and now she’s demanding I put her on the blog lol. I have to step my game up!

  19. I love the little addition of what you used and LOVE galaxy nail art!! You did a great job on these and hello to your mum!!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 8, 2015

      Thank you 😀 She says Hello back. This does mean every weekend now she wants an awesome blog worthy mani – no more plain colours and a little bit of stamping for her 😀

  20. Shawna
    March 7, 2015

    Oh man, I can’t tell you enough how much I love these gorgeous nails!!!

  21. Amy Hoye
    March 8, 2015

    These are lovely! I never would have thought to use Eurso Euro as a base for galaxy, but it works perfectly. My mom is nowhere near this daring in her nails, her idea of nail art is a rhinestone. And I love the list at the end with all your materials. Great idea!

  22. Anita@StyleThoseNails
    March 8, 2015

    Very beautiful

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
