Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Weekend Nails: Water Spotted Spring

Marble1

This mani was inspired by a comment in a group I am in about what other colours you could use for water spotting aside from black – of course you can use any colours! I decided to do a mani using something alternative as an example of what it might look like – I have to say though my cheap perfume is on its last dregs so the spray didn’t work as well as normal. I have since picked up a spray bottle from Boots which I am planning on filling with 99.9% alcohol to use for my next water spotting session! For this mani I stared with two coats of OPI Alpine Snow – I really need to pick up another bottle of this as I only have about 1/3rd left. If you want a cheaper alternative Barrym Matt White is just as good, I personally prefer the brush on the OPI though.

Marble3

Yep, my cuticles are still pretty dry, so please forgive that! I decided to use turquoise again and paired it with a peach colour because these colours have that same South Western feel I think and are very “springy”. So this is China Glaze Aquadelic and China Glaze Peachy Keen – they both spread really well in the water and are fairly opaque on their own which I think really helps for water spotted, the white base really makes these colours pop but I think they’d look great over other colours too.

Marble2

For an accent nail it was a simple task of arranging some teeny tiny triangle rhinestones and some square ones – I use a small bit of topcoat and a dotting tool to place them into tacky polish and then float a generous coat of topcoat over the top to seal them in to place. I am pleased to report that I once again have HK Girl Topcoat in my life, this is my holy grail topcoat. I will let you know which topcoat I am using for which mani – as I think for manis I won’t be wearing too long I will use a cheaper option. Got to savour theee preeeccciioooussss. As you can see from the first colour I just alternated which finger had which colour on for the water spotting cause I like to mix it up, especially when I do a mani on both hands.

What are your holy grail nail products? Do you go through phases of having favourite nail art techniques? How was your weekend? I’d love to hear from you so why not leave a comment below? 😀 Time for me to go get ready for a date with my lovely nail fiend friend. Have a good Monday!

50 comments on “Weekend Nails: Water Spotted Spring

  1. themayfairy
    March 2, 2015

    So pretty! The turquoise is definitely my favourite

  2. Tracey
    March 2, 2015

    These are amazing, so much better than mine 🙂

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 2, 2015

      Well your water marbles are in their own league! To be fair I really liked your water spotted though.

  3. acidicice
    March 2, 2015

    I really need to make the time to do a water spotted mani! This one is great! I love how the rhinestones match the colours you chose! I think my stamping stuff are my favourite nail art supplies and most treasured goodies.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 2, 2015

      Yes, I am a total stamping addict. I need to try and use a dotting tool more again, I feel like I have neglected working on it.

  4. Karen
    March 2, 2015

    You already know that I adore these! Lovely job Charlie!

  5. Jenny Olesen
    March 2, 2015

    This manicure is so pretty! I love how the colors work together. HK Girl is also my favorite top coat. I have several backups so I’ll never run out. :0)

  6. Blingfinger
    March 2, 2015

    That looks great, I want to try it!

  7. Jessica W.
    March 2, 2015

    This is such a fantastic mani. The colors go so well together!

  8. Amanda Rieter
    March 2, 2015

    I love turquoise and orange together! I’d have to say doing a chevron accent nail is probably one of my favorite looks and a glitter gradient as well.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 2, 2015

      I really need to get some chevron vinyls. I WISH I could do glitter gradients but they just never look right when I do them… what’s your secret?

  9. Tamara
    March 2, 2015

    I absolutely adore the turquoise/terra cotta color combo! I love those little jewels too! My holy grail lately is KBShimmer Clearly On Top topcoat. I really prefer it to HK Girl, which got goopy on me very quickly.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 2, 2015

      I find that it gets goopy towards the end of the bottle but I can live with that for the rest of the good things it does for me. I think KBShimmer would work out as even more expensive for me than HK Girl though.

  10. Manna
    March 2, 2015

    I love this SO much. The colors you chose are perfect.

  11. Lisa N.
    March 2, 2015

    The water spotted design looks great!

  12. Makenna
    March 2, 2015

    I’ve fallen in love with Dragon Claw Polish’s Diamond Claw for a topcoat. Use it with every mani!!!

  13. pastelpolish
    March 3, 2015

    I love this mani!!!! It looks so cool!!

  14. nakedwithoutpolish
    March 3, 2015

    I’m in love with this mani! Beautifully put together! Colors are so much fun!

  15. Polished Techie
    March 3, 2015

    Oh!! loved the color combination

  16. Savannah
    March 3, 2015

    Love the turquoise and orange color combo! They’re perfect together!

  17. Polished Hippy
    March 3, 2015

    Oooh, looks like candy speckled eggs. I used to have a holy grail top coat, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri but I got tired of frankening it when it got thick so now I am drifting around through a few.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 3, 2015

      I think thats just the thing with top-speed topcoats – the thing that makes them dry fast is chemical evaporation which will of course happen to the bottles over time. At the moment having gone without for a few months, I am willing to put up with it for the fast dry.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 3, 2015

      P.S. Thank you! Can totally see the egg thing now you’ve said it.

  18. Dani FromPolishwithLove
    March 3, 2015

    I love the gemstone accents you used!! This is so pretty!! I’ve always wanted to try waterspotting and really need to make it a point to pick up a little spray bottle. Every time I’m out and about I forget and then I see a mani like this that makes me wish I remembered!!! I love this!

  19. roselynn787
    March 3, 2015

    Beautiful mani, I’m in love with the color scheme!

  20. Nadia MamaHeartsPolish
    March 3, 2015

    I love the combination of peach and turquoise. It looks like the perfect summer manicure to me.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 3, 2015

      Yeh me too! It turned out much more spring/summer than it looked in my head. Still loved it though and we had some sun over the weekend so it worked out well 😀

  21. Anita@StyleThoseNails
    March 3, 2015

    Perfect spring mani. Water spots looks like flowers

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 3, 2015

      ooo I hadn’t thought about that. Thanks lovely 😀 I am hoping there will be lots of spring water spot manis coming out soon – I want an epidemic!

  22. Amy
    March 3, 2015

    I love the teal and orange together. This is so cute!

  23. Shawna
    March 4, 2015

    First – love blue and orange together, this is beautiful!! Second, my holy grail products are my base and topcoat – Horsetail by Chick polish and HKGirl Glisten and Glow 🙂 And I definitely have technique phases – once I couldn’t stop doing gradients 😛

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 4, 2015

      Ooo gradients, I don’t think I have done one of those is ages. Maybe I need to make a technique list to keep me thinking about what I could be doing to mix it up.

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment!!! ❤

  24. Amy
    March 4, 2015

    This is so pretty! Orange and turquoise is such an unusual combo, but it works so well here. Great job!

  25. mishka824m
    March 5, 2015

    This is awesome! I love what you did with the rhinestones on the accent nail to accentuate it. Gorgeous. 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2015 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
