Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Catching up with Mummy Smith’s Nails

I can’t believe how full my blogging schedule has been recently but I wanted to share with you the last couple of weeks worth of nail looks that Mummy Smith has been rocking. This is also a good excuse for me to review a couple of wonderful Illamasquas I picked up at TK Maxx for just £3.99 each.

Pieces2

So here is a fun patch work mani which used a combination of stamped decals and a little bit of striping tape. I started out with a base of OPI Do You Have This Colour in Stock-holm? which I think for many people was the stand out shade from last falls Nordic collection. This colour was loaned to me by the lovely Emma (Imagination in Colour) and I knew Mum was going to love it. This does take two coats to be opaque but is a really nice and even formula to work with.

Pieces3

I made decals by picking up this swirly image from MoYou Landscape 01 in Konad Special Polish Black and then coloured over it in Illamasqua Collide which is a buttery neon pink polish. It is not super opaque and would probably need 2-3 coats to be worn alone but it really is very POW and super nice to work with. It does dry down to a rubbery matte look but topcoat brings it back to life. Once my decal had dried I peeled it off my stamper and cut it up using scissors, this is a little bit fiddle as the decal is fragile but I think I only needed to make 3 full decals for these nails. Once these portions will applied it was time for the final step.

Pieces1

Using a little bit of striping tape to mask off the edges I added some A England Fonteyn for some holographic magic. I have mentioned so many times how much I love this polish – it applies so smoothly and has just a hint of purple in it. I paid full price for this which is quite expensive at £9 including delivery but I have used it so often that it is worth every penny. I think I might actually finish this bottle and that is a rare thing for a non staple kind of colour.

MumsDay2

Fast forward a week and we have Illamasqua Prosperity and this is similar to Do You Have This Colour…. but it is amped up to neon perfection. This one dries very quickly on the nail but the application was pretty easy in 2 coats. Like Collide this does dry to a rubbery matte finish which I love (but Mum is all about the gloss).

MumDay1

For the ring finger accent I used two coats of Butter London Lovely Jubbly which is an insane micro-glitter mix in fuchsia, purple and blue. I used two coats for total coverage. It’s not super rough to the touch and topcoat smoothes it very easily. This is a polish I picked up on sale for just £6 from one of the online retailers (I forget which) – I do seem to be using a lot of “luxury” price bracket polishes in this post but generally as a rule I do not pay more than £6 for a polish and I ALWAYS shop around for the best deal. At just £3.99 the Illamasqua cost me the same as a China Glaze and is a colour I wanted to add to my stash – I am in the neon zone.

MumsDay3

For the second accent I took some super thin slices of fimo flowers (thank you to Tracey for gifting me these!) and placed them across the nail – I trimmed edges to get them to fit right to the edges. Two thick coats of topcoat and these sit completely flush and glossy to the nail, which is important to Mum who doesn’t like things sticking up. The other thing is that I did these on middle fingers which is the least annoying nail to have things sticking up from for whatever reason – just something I have noticed. I think these nails are super fun and were perfect for Mother’s Day – gotta give Mum flowers right?

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

 

Products:

  • Illamasqua Collide
  • Illamasqua Prosperity
  • A England Fonteyn
  • Butter London Lovely Jubbly
  • OPI Do You Have This Color In Stock-holm
42 comments on “Catching up with Mummy Smith’s Nails

  1. Tracey
    March 20, 2015

    Love these 🙂

  2. Lo Fig
    March 20, 2015

    Both are really lovely!

  3. acidicice
    March 20, 2015

    Very cool! I would never have said those were fimos. They look so flat!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 22, 2015

      I know! I couldn’t believe how delicate they were but definitely made them more useable.

  4. Jessica W.
    March 20, 2015

    That patchwork design is just so cool looking!!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 22, 2015

      Thank you Jessica! I am looking forward to doing it again it different colours and patterns!

  5. Lisa N.
    March 20, 2015

    They look good.

  6. Jenny Olesen
    March 20, 2015

    These are lovely!

  7. Hayley
    March 21, 2015

    I can’t believe you found Illamasquas for such a great price! Love the 2 I have 🙂

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 22, 2015

      I have never really bothered with the upper mainstream brands because I don’t like spending LOTS of money on one polish. I have been really impressed with these though and glad I bought them. Still don’t think I would pay full price though… so I better run and buy some more while they’re cheap 😉

  8. karen
    March 21, 2015

    The patchwork nails are my favorite! So so cute!

  9. Blingfinger
    March 21, 2015

    I love them both! I don’t think I have seen fimos that thin before, it look’s like decals.

  10. Amy
    March 21, 2015

    Very cute! I love the patchwork mani so much.

  11. Tamara
    March 21, 2015

    I love both of these manis, but oh that Butter London!! Wow!

  12. Polished Hippy
    March 21, 2015

    Both those manis turned out perfectly!

  13. roselynn787
    March 22, 2015

    Both manis look so stunning! I cannot believe Illamasquas at TJ Maxx, must go find some asap!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 22, 2015

      Well they are here in the UK so fingers crossed for the US getting some too. I really want more but I have spent a FORTUNE this month on various things so will have to live without.

  14. Debbie Jarman
    March 22, 2015

    these are lovely! lucky mummy !!

  15. Dani FromPolishwithLove
    March 22, 2015

    I adore both looks but especially that second one! Those filo slices are adorable! I had to make sure I was reading that they were fine since they do lay perfectly flush saints her nails. Well done, your mom is so lucky that you spoil her with great manis!!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 22, 2015

      I know! I couldn’t believe how thin these were – I need to find out where Tracey got them! I did use two generous coat of topcoat to fill the gaps but thats really no biggy!

  16. Polish & Plates
    March 22, 2015

    Love the patchwork nails!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 22, 2015

      They were a little time consuming but totally worth it in the end and they wore really well too 😀

  17. Amy Hoye
    March 23, 2015

    These are both great, but I absolutely love the patchwork design! I’m always struggling to come up with creative ways to stamp. This is a great idea!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 23, 2015

      Thanks Amy! I know what you mean about being creative with techniques – I am not sure where I first saw this done but it’s a good little technique if you have the time.

  18. Manna
    March 23, 2015

    Both manis are fabulous!

  19. Shawna
    March 23, 2015

    These are beautiful!! I think the first one is my favorite!

  20. Nadia MamaHeartsPolish
    March 23, 2015

    I like the second one the best, I love that purple Illamasqua polish.

  21. mishka824m
    March 24, 2015

    Wow, those slices really are super thin! I thought for sure they were water decals!!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
