Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

T is for Texture

Disclaimer: Essence Satin Matt Topcoat sent for honest review, all opinions are my own.

Denim2For today’s design I took my inspiration from this denim skirt I have and thought that it would be a great excuse to try out this Satin Matt Top Coat from Essence which was sent to me along with some other goodies a couple of weeks ago (check out my make up review here). Essence gives the following description:

on top! the nail art satin matt top coat gives your nails a fashionable silky-matt finish. apply this cool top coat on top of your nail polish to give any colour this trendy effect. absolutely unique!

I am not sure if it is unique but it is a pretty cool matte effect – I would recommend applying this over your normal topcoat to just give your mani that extra longevity (also if your normal base coat is a super quick drier like HK Girl or Seche Vite it just helps get this mani dry quicker). This matte topcoat does dry to effect relatively quickly but remains dentable for up to 10 minutes (depending on how thick your application is). You don’t need a lot though and the brush is fairly flat and medium width making it easy to get even coverage on the nail.

Denim1

On to my mani! So I really wanted to recreate that textured look that denim has – I didn’t quite get the same colours as my light denim skirt but I think this mani turned out pretty well none the less. I started with one coat of OPI Can’t Find My Czechbook – you would probably need two coats to wear this alone but since I was going to be adding more on top I wasn’t too concerned about perfect coverage. I used OPI Incognito in Sausalito and Vant To Bite My Neck? to dry brush on top – anywhere that turned too dark I dry brushed on a little Czechbook. Due to the fact this technique adds such thin layers of polish my mani was soon dry enough to stamp on.

Denim3I used OPI Did You Ear About Van Gogh and MoYou Hipster 06 to add this textured detailing on top – this plate is great for creating plaid and tartan patterns! I used the same image for all my nails, changing just the orientation to mix it up. Topcoat really brings the layers together, so don’t worry if your mani looks a little odd before you add this step! As you can see I did do this mani on both hands and it really didn’t take very long. I stretched the image for my thumbs by flexing the stamping head – you can see lots of tutorials for this on youtube.

Denim4

I should have taken some pictures of this glossy before I added my matte topcoat so you could see that step but trust me this does look great shiney too! The matte topcoat just adds a little something extra, it does add a slight dustiness to the colours but I definitely think that works for my washed denim design.

What do you think? I’m really enjoying wearing this mani at the moment! I did consider adding some gold stud embellishments but decided to keep it as it was – I didn’t want to do TOO much. Have you done a denim mani before? Have you tried this Essence topcoat? Are you looking forward to the new MoYou doodle plates coming out this week? I’d love to hear from you with a comment below!

Don’t forget to check out what everyone else has come up with for this weeks challenge using the inlinkz froggy below and ALSO if you would like to see previous weeks for this challenge (and more) there is a complete A2Z archive page HERE. We can also be found on IG using #A2ZNails

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

 

Products:

  • OPI Can’t Find My Czechbook
  • OPI Incognito in Sausalito
  • OPI Vant To Bite My Neck
  • OPI Did You Ear About Van Gogh?
43 comments on “T is for Texture

  1. Tracey
    March 26, 2015

    Amazing, great denim look x

  2. Debbie Jarman
    March 26, 2015

    love it!!!!

  3. WonderfulWolf
    March 26, 2015

    This looks amazing, good job!

  4. Morgan Etoile
    March 26, 2015

    This looks so good! You are very talented!
    http://www.morganetoile.com

  5. Catherine Dream
    March 26, 2015

    This mani looks AWESOME!

  6. Lisa N.
    March 26, 2015

    It looks great!

  7. Sasha
    March 27, 2015

    This is really cool! Brought back memories of a pair of jeans that I used to have when I was growing up.

  8. acidicice
    March 27, 2015

    I think this is perfect! I haven’t done denim yet. I don’t have a lot of blue polishes, so that’s a problem. I don’t think that essence top coat has been released here yet.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      March 28, 2015

      I seem to keep buying blue polishes but I don’t wear them that often – this was a fun way to mix a couple up

  9. Amy
    March 27, 2015

    T is for totally tubular. OK, bad example but I love these so much. The matte plaid/denim look is great.

  10. Polished Hippy
    March 28, 2015

    What a great idea to matte a denim mani! Looks perfect.

  11. blingfinger
    March 28, 2015

    It’s a great look, it’s perfect with a matte finish!

  12. Manna
    March 28, 2015

    Nice recreation of denim!

  13. Sumeet
    March 28, 2015

    These are super cool! You did a great job!

  14. Katey Vanderwyst
    March 28, 2015

    I like how this looks matte!

  15. Savannah
    March 29, 2015

    I really really like this look. It came out amazing!

  16. Shawna
    March 29, 2015

    This mani is awesome! I’ve never tried this look before – you are rockin’ it!!

  17. Amy Hoye
    March 29, 2015

    I love that the plaid pattern doubles as the denim texture! This was really clever. Love it!

  18. M O
    March 29, 2015

    Brilliant. The colours look amazing! And I love the mattified look x

  19. karen
    March 29, 2015

    Love love love Charlie! Your art is always on point. You captured the texture perfectly.

  20. I have a satin top coat from Julep and I still don’t know how I feel about it. Its nice for a change but I prefer shiny!

  21. nakedwithoutpolish
    March 30, 2015

    I love this so much! Beautifully done!

  22. Anita@StyleThoseNails
    March 30, 2015

    Love it. I might try.

  23. Pingback: Spring Blossoms (Featuring Mummy Smith) | Pocket Money Polishes

  24. roselynn787
    March 30, 2015

    This is so gorgeous! I love how it looks matted.

  25. Nadia MamaHeartsPolish
    March 31, 2015

    Love this! The dry brushing really adds a bit of grungyness to the mani, makes it really look like faded denim. Excellent mani!

  26. LB BEAUTY DIVA
    April 5, 2015

    Wow love the designs and color combos! I’ll have to check out the Essence satin matt top coat.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
