Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

U is for Unusual

Disclaimer: Some of the products used were sent to me for honest review, all opinions are my own.

Here we are, all caught up with the A2Z weeks I missed and just in time for tomorrows. Don’t forget to check out the complete (new and improved) A2Z Archive HERE and also click on the little inlinkz at the bottom of this post for all of the manis done for U for Unusual.
Radium2

When Emma handed me my little parcel of loaned goodies and I saw Illamasqua Radium I knew it would be perfect for this mani – in itself it is a very usual polish, lime green with bright blue green flash. It applies beautifully in 2 coats. The name itself was inspiring as I thought about Radium… radiation… laboratories… mad scientists.

Radium1

Sorry that picture is all out of focus but I had a real pain in the bum time trying to capture the flash on camera – SO PRETTY. This colour is pretty unusual for me too as I am not really into green on my nails.

Radium3

This mani is pretty much all taken from one stamping plate – HeHe 040 which has some really great watermarble type patterns on it. I was really drawn to this uneven bubble outline that I used for my pointer and ring fingers. Then I stamped a more standard watermarble design on my middle finger. Finally I took the angry troll head (yeh… thats on this plate too) and added it to my thumb. I used the advanced stamping technique to give him some flesh tone in China Glaze Pack Lightly. The conical flask was hand painted in acrylic using one of my small BPS Detail Brushes. I added a little La Femme Silver Glitter into the flask and on my pointer and pinky – just to tie in the metallic elements. Plus ermm… GLITTER.

Radium4

Lets talk about these mini steam punk pieces on my ring finger, these were sent to me for review by the lovely Sarah from She Sells Seashells. I have been eyeing these up on her site for quite a while. For this design I chose some small flat pieces but there is a really good mix of sizes and shapes in here – something for all your cogs and weird metal shapes needs. A generous baggy of these retails for just £1.50 which did work out cheaper than ebay when I last checked. I really want to do a nautical design with some of these next. You can find She Sells Seashells on Facebook and Instagram (as well as their retail site).

Radium6

Here’s a shot of the mani in what is fading natural light – anyone else been relishing this glorious spring sunshine?!? I found these pieces stuck on as easily as gems and studs using my usual topcoat (which also didn’t react with the metal). I thought this flurry of metallic pieces across the nail really went with my mad scientist theme. Thumbs up from me for these! Sarah has also sent me some nail vinyls which I am excited to use – any tips for using vinyls?!

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

Products:

3 comments on “U is for Unusual

  1. Tracey
    April 14, 2015

    I love this mani great for this A2Z 🙂

  2. Lisa N.
    April 14, 2015

    This green totally reminds me of Shrek. Its unique but fun.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
