Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

W is for Wild

Disclaimer: I can’t remember if I bought these decals or they were sent for review, honest opinions regardless. I know, I have issues.

“Beyond the Wild Wood comes the wild world,”said the Rat.”And that’s something that doesn’t matter, either to you or to me. I’ve never been there, and I’m never going’ nor you either, if you’ve got any sense at all.”
Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows

I did have two manis in mind for this prompt but I figured a lot of the ladies would be channeling crazy colours and animal prints (I could be wrong, click on the inlinkz at the bottom to see!) and I wanted to be different… plus the water decals I recently received from BPS were calling to me. I LOVE water decals – so easy to use and quick for adding some neat nail art onto your digits.

Please please please forgive the few bits of failed clean up – it was really late when I was doing these nails last night and I thought I’d got it all but macro photography shows every crime. WOOPS.

Wild6

So I got to thinking about “wild” and my brain went “oh… like the wild woods in Wind in the Willows?” (it followed up that thought with “ooo I love Wind in the Willows”) and then looking at the decal sheet (picture below) my brain settled on “teddy bears picnic”. So here we have a couple of wild critters sitting in a flowery field somewhere hanging out.

Wild1

This sheet of decals from Born Pretty Store is really generous in the amount of images you get – there are enough bits and pieces here for several manis. It comes with good instructions on the back (which has been missing from some decal packs in the back) and although a little fiddly occasionally to get to the images you want, really easy to work with. Cut out your image, pull off the plastic (DO NOT FORGET THIS STEP), stick in water and your little critter or flower or bow or fungi comes off with just a very small clear border. It is important to remember that decals are not 100% opaque so do work best on lighter backgrounds in my opinion.

Wild2For my background I started with a good coat of OPI Alpine Snow – I am near the bottom of my bottle so the formula is one coat perfection now – then once this was dry I sponged on Nails Inc St James Square and Color Club Fly With Me. If you do this and find your colours are too intense you can always add in a little white sponging over the top or mix it into the polish before you pick it up on your sponge (I usually blob my polish onto some cardboard or something). I have to say I use a cheap and bad formula white for sponging because it works great for this job and I hate things going to waste.

Wild3

I actually layered the rabbit and bear decal over some straight lines of flowers that are on the sheet – because these decals are not to thick you could easily layer several images together and really build up the dimensions. Everything was sealed in with HK Girl Topcoat as usual.

What’s that on my wrist? Well it is another BPS product – this time just a little water transfer tattoo of a galaxy bunny! I am a crazy rabbit lady for anyone who doesn’t know so these were just calling my nail when I saw them on the site (I am fairly sure I actually bought these myself!). These tattoos were a little smaller than I thought from the website but to be honest, that was better for me personally because a) I could fit two bunnies on my wrist, one for each of my babies and b) I prefer smaller tattoos (even when it comes to pretend ones). Just like the water decals for nails these come with full instructions and its a cut, peel, soak kind of job.

I should however say that over the course of last night (me sleeping) these did pretty much rub off – I guess I sleep on my arm. They are super cute and inexpensive though so perfect for if you want to add a little something for a special event. The sheet also comes with cat and deer designs and you can find it HERE. Don’t forget my blog code XPG10 gets you 10% off all full price items on Born Pretty Store.

BunnyTattoo

 

As ever there is the complete A2Z Archive available HERE with over 22 weeks of awesome designs from some super talented bloggers.

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

  • Rimmel Nail Nurse Basecoat
  • Glisten&Glow HK Girl Topcoat
  • Animal Decals from BPS
  • Small pot with some warm water
  • Small piece of sponge

Products:

  • OPI Alpine Snow
  • Nails Inc St James Square
  • Color Club Fly With Me

 

25 comments on “W is for Wild

  1. MO
    April 16, 2015

    Love them! They’re so sweet and gentle. I’ve not seen a mani like this before – it rocks x

  2. Tracey
    April 16, 2015

    These are so cute and pretty. Love water decals too, and yes you were right. I went for an animal print design!! Xx

  3. Lisa N.
    April 16, 2015

    Those nails are just so cute!

  4. Anita@StyleThoseNails
    April 17, 2015

    Sp cute. I especially loved the tattoos ☺

  5. acidicice
    April 17, 2015

    I love the mani and the bunny tattoos!

  6. Blingfinger
    April 17, 2015

    Crazy cute!

  7. Sasha
    April 17, 2015

    Those decals are adorable and your mani is cute and perfect for Spring.

  8. Jenny Olesen
    April 18, 2015

    Such a cute manicure!

  9. Polished Hippy
    April 19, 2015

    Such a neat idea to layer them like that! And I loved temporary tattoos as a kid. I still remember some of the ones I wore 30 years ago since they were such a treat for me!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      April 19, 2015

      They remind me of holidays when I was younger, we always used to get temp tattoos and usually ended up with tan marks in very weird shapes 😛

  10. Manna
    April 19, 2015

    These are adorable. How dare you not clean up perfectly :p

  11. Karen
    April 19, 2015

    I love your execution of Wild. And your wrist tat is adorable!

  12. Amy
    April 20, 2015

    The bunnies are super cute. Love!

  13. nakedwithoutpolish
    April 20, 2015

    These are adorable!! Looks like an illustration in a children’s book.

  14. Shawna
    April 20, 2015

    OMG!!! These are soooo adorable!!!!!

  15. Polished Techie
    April 20, 2015

    Its such a sweet mani

  16. roselynn787
    April 20, 2015

    These are so cute and adorable. I love the background for the decals.

  17. Nadia MamaHeartsPolish
    April 21, 2015

    I love this interpretation of wild! At first I thought the whole design was one decal, so I really like what you did creating the background and layering the animals and flowers to create the scene.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
