Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

X, Y and Z

While I was away from blogging I did manage to miss the last three weeks of the A2Z challenge which makes me sad because I have been doing this challenge for nearly half a year and did the A-Z one before that… plus it’s kind of my challenge. So this week I really wanted to catch up with the challenge and initially I was going to do a blog post and manicure for each as normal but then I thought: rather than churning out designs could I do something that sums up all three of these last themes.

 – X is for eXtra Special

– Y is for You

– Z is for ZigZags

For “You” I really wanted to use brown polish – recently I had been chatting to a friend about polishes and she was HATING on a brown polish *YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE!* which only reminded me how much I love brown and the uglier the better. I was gifted Nails Inc Battersea Power Station by a different compadre, Emma (Imagination in Colour), who was not at all enamoured with the shade and I think described it as “toxic baby poo” brown… to me this is a lovely tan caramel and I am so glad to have it. Shout out here to Anna (AnnaBeanwho is another lover of this shade and in my little ugly colour team.

XYZ4

Once I picked out Battersea…. I spotted Maple Street in my Nails Inc drawer and this is a polish I got in a bundle of browns from Debbie ( Knitty Nailsand I don’t know if I have ever really used it. It is a lovely deep brown with some purple undertones and magical gold micro shimmer.

XYZ3

Next to the drawers I keep my Nails Inc in, are my nail art drawers; I kind of picked through various things and found these great metallic half pearl style studs that I bought recently from Born Pretty Store (more on those in a moment) and a tatter of matching gold foil (no idea where this came from… I think it may have been gifted to me by Ave (Nail Lacquer UK) – thanks lovely!

Does anyone else occasionally make up manicures as they go along rather than planning it all out in advance?

Back to the BPS Nail Decorations: the studs are flat backed and come in a wheel of silver and gold with a range of 6 or 7 sizes for each colour. I used three different sizes and affixed them to my nail using topcoat – they have a lovely bright gold metallic shine which sets them apart from other gold studs I have which are usually a more tarnished look. According to the website this wheel contains 400pcs and currently these are retailing for $3.31/£2.16.

With all of these goodies picked out, I headed down to the lounge where I was going to do my nails. In the tray of nail bits I keep down there I found BP-41 which has a great Zig Zag water marble design which really completed all the elements I needed for this manicure. I started with a base of OPI Alpine Snow – it’s not one of my manis if an OPI doesn’t magically sneak its way into the mix and then stamped the design by striping my two Nails Inc browns on the plate. I used my Konad stamper today because I couldn’t find my MoYou one – was shocked at how hard it was in comparison but it is not impossible to work with by any means. I added my studs onto my middle finger for an accent and then it was time for my thumb.

XYZ1

I really wanted to tie in the golden elements on my accent but didn’t want to put any more gold over my stamping so on my thumb I instead created a distressed golden tatter look with my foil – just pushing the foil down onto the touch dry polish. You could do something similar with gold leaf or maybe a good gold crackle polish. This looks REALLY luxxey in really life as the crinkles in the foil (created by the topcoat) catch the light and sparkle. My topcoat of choice was HK Girl as usual.

XYZ2

I am not sure why my topcoat dragged today as I left the stamping for a long time and floated it on but such is life – I’m not perfect. So we have zig zags for z, this mani could not be more me as I combine my favourite colours and nail art techniques as well as including my favourite brand OPI (also it makes me think of caramel coffees… yummy!), and finally it is special with gold but “eXtra” special because of all the friends that contributed to it in their own special ways.

Please please please go and check out what the other ladies have been up to for their last manis of the challenge by checking out the Archive Page which has ALL of the inlinkz for this challenge.

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

 

Products:

  • Nails Inc Battersea Power Station
  • Nails Inc Maple Street
  • OPI Alpine Snow
28 comments on “X, Y and Z

  1. Lisa N.
    May 11, 2015

    These nails look great!

  2. Tracey
    May 11, 2015

    Love brown polish, and these look amazingly pretty 😀

  3. Shawna
    May 11, 2015

    These are lovely!! The gold accents really make it stand out!

  4. nakedwithoutpolish
    May 11, 2015

    Did a wonderful job with these!

  5. Tiffany
    May 11, 2015

    Awesome mani! And Iove your write up, it really portrays your passion for nail art and all the little things that go into it.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      May 12, 2015

      Thanks Tiffany – I know I ramble on but I quite like doing write ups and sharing my thoughts. Glad you enjoyed reading it!

  6. Manna
    May 11, 2015

    I’m not a fan of brown polish, but you rocked this mani, it’s great!

  7. Sumeet
    May 11, 2015

    Beautiful! I love the gold accents!

  8. Karen Pish
    May 12, 2015

    You totally made me fall in love with brown!

  9. Lo F (BruisedUpDollie)
    May 12, 2015

    I love browns i tend to wear them a lot during autumn. so lovely!

  10. Sasha
    May 12, 2015

    Haha. Your friends comment about the brown is funny. You know what in the bottle it looks kind of bleh but then once you put it on it’s not too shabby. Love the design you came up with and those studs!!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      May 12, 2015

      Aww thank you lovely! Yeh it’s definitely one of those polishes that blossoms on the nail especially in nail art – I have worn it on its own though and it’s lovely. I am addicted to these studs right now, want to put them on every mani, but trying to resist.

  11. I have to agree with her on the toxic baby poo but you totally made this work!!!!!

  12. Blingfinger
    May 12, 2015

    I love Nails Inc Battersea Power Station and the shade of caramel brown so much!

  13. mishka824m
    May 14, 2015

    Love the stamping over the color blocks. Gorgeous!

  14. Alpana (Alpsnailart)
    May 14, 2015

    Your manis are beautiful. I can’t believe the A2Z weekly is now almost complete! I started the challenge manis with so much excitement but lost touch half way through due to busy schedule. Must say, you guys did great job and i loved being part of it too.

  15. roselynn787
    May 14, 2015

    You did a fantastic job on this, I love the combination with the gold and marble. It looks gorgeous.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2015 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
