Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Reasons Why My Mum is Just All Kinds of lovely.

While I was sick my lovely sweet mum, in addition to nursing me back to health, bought me an array of treats to cheer me up. These treats ranged from favourite snack foods to magazines with nail polish for me to check out and review. So, now I am finally well I thought I would share some of these treats with you. I thought it especially relevant since parts of the world just had Mother’s Day and there’s nothing wrong with showing Mum some extra appreciation!

Is it just me or do Mum’s always know exactly what little thing you need to make you feel a bit better… even if it’s not something you think you need.

Let me start with a NNR treat: Zomlings. I don’t blame you if you’ve never heard of these things but basically they’re little plastic character pencil toppers. The reason my mum bought me (a 25 year old) these little toys was that she watched me fascinated with a video from Grav3yardgirl in which she unwrapped a boxful a very similar sort of toy called Shopkins (link HERE) – I adore that Mum remembered me watching this video and thought of me in this cute way. I also love that she is still buying me these critters although I am running out of pencils and paintbrushes to top with them. I haven’t had a double yet which is cool and it’s fun having a little inexpensive mystery to unwrap.

Zomlings

I only got the snowman today and I just think he is adorable; the raccoon and the unicorn were my very first too. I love their little bulgy eyes. Anyway, I just wanted to share those with you – parents out there are probably going: oh no, not more little bits of plastic!

Ok, onto nail related business. The first magazine Mum bought me was actually Top of the Pops (which I didn’t even know they still made) – it is aimed at tweens and I think this month featured Zoella (who I had heard of) and a host of other people (who I hadn’t) ((I am getting old)).

TopofPopsFreebie

The bonus “gift” with this magazine was a little nail art kit containing 1) frosty blue metallic nail polish, a set of “scented”stickers and 3 pots of fimo slices PLUS a small not book and pen. For £3.99 I think this is a reasonable little haul for the age range. I did have a small play with the nail set and have to say the nail polish is very likely not 3-free based on the smell and the speed at which it dried – however it applied fine in two coats and the speedy drying probably works well for this age range. Stickers and fimo are really cute and nice little nail art addition for younger girls. I think this shows how mainstream and popular nail art really is now.

Onto the adult nail freebie – Cosmopolitan May 2015 (which I think should still be available now) has four different New Kidd polishes as their goodie for this month. I have to say I have never heard of this brand but the colour palette of the freebies reminds me of Nails Inc – very classic and wearable. I think there is a pink, a nude, a dark red and a light red and the package claims that if you have all four that is a retail value of £48. Which basically means these polishes are selling for £12 which is a hefty price tag. The shade Mum picked out for me is called Eton Mess which is a classic red colour that applies very nicely and is opaque in two hyper glossy coats. It has a kind of candy apple look to it. I definitely think this polish is worth the £3.80 the magazine costs although I don’t think I will be rushing out to pay full retail for colours that are really nothing new – just my opinion of course! I have tucked this magazine into my handbag as it is the travel sized one and I am looking forward to reading it next time I am sat waiting or riding the bus.

NewKiddEtonMess

What do you think? Do you like getting little gifts like these? Do you hunt for magazine freebies – what’s the best thing you’ve ever gotten? Do you like unboxing/unwrapping videos? Let me know with a comment below. Yes, I am full of questions today.

Completely unrelated story: Are you a weirdo magnet? I totally am. Yesterday, I was on the bus back from an appointment on the other side of town and the bus was pretty quiet which is perfect for me because it meant my bag could have a seat all to itself (yes, I am that person). Anyway, near the end of my ride to the mall near my home a man gets on the bus, I look up because he dropped his bag as he was paying for his ticket and apparently, he took this as a sign that of all the empty seats on the bus he was destined for the one next to me and therefore meant to be my friend. Reluctantly I moved my bag as he slumped into my neighbouring seat.

I am relatively sure the man had a disability of some kind and I always try my best to be polite to strangers so replied when I was spoken to but this guy asked me A LOT of questions for the rest of the journey and asked if he could come shopping with me or if I would like to go shopping with him. Now, I am certain he meant no harm but I did genuinely get very uncomfortable by the end of it – this mall is very close to my home and I didn’t really want him following me around the shops or home when I was finished. When it was time to get off the man did make his way out the door and didn’t wait around for me, but I definitely kept my distance as I headed into the mall. Another lady on the bus had noticed what was going on and hung back on the bus with me and kind of checked I was alright which was sweet and a lovely friend of mine answered an SOS text message with a phone call. I just felt so unnerved and then having the same destination as the guy kind of trapped.  Have you ever been in one of these situations? I thought I had mastered resting b*tch face to the point where people would like to sit anywhere but next to me… apparently I need to work on it.

8 comments on “Reasons Why My Mum is Just All Kinds of lovely.

  1. Narmai Nan
    May 12, 2015

    I totally don’t have a ‘resting bitch face’ because people like that always come sit with me and tell me their life’s story. It probably means you’re a good person and people feel attracted to your kindness but holy hell I’d have felt trapped and threatened as well!

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      May 12, 2015

      I like this explanation – let’s go with that! I was reflecting that a younger me would have probably had a harder time with it… older me went and hid in boots until he was definitely gone 😛

  2. Tracey
    May 12, 2015

    Such a beautiful post, all Mum’s are angels, hugs to you and yours xx

  3. Sandra Lewrey
    May 12, 2015

    That’s awfully sweet. 🙂 Last time I was brutally sick my mom sent me over a care package of a bunch of my favourite foods – fried chicken! – and I was so touched (and SICK) I just burst into tears and couldn’t stop crying!

  4. Sasha
    May 14, 2015

    LOL I know EXACTLY how you feel. I guess I need to work on mine too. Don’t worry I am also that person that likes their back to have their own seat (when I do take the bus or train). Aren’t moms just amazing! They always know what to get you when you’re feeling down or sick and they’re always so supportive. My mom has always been my back bone and my biggest supporter. I don’t know where I would be without her.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2015 by in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
