Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

A2Z: Greatest Hits Album

…aka what Thursday’s looked like for the last 6 months.

Rather than make a post of the complete back catalogue (you can see these by checking out my Pinterest A2Z board OR the complete A2Z Archive Page) I decided I wanted to pick out my personal favourite manicures from this massive challenge and reflect on them a little bit. Is your favourite design here? Let me know with a comment below. Picture heavy – grab a drink and get comfy!

A2ZAngles1

A is for Angles – I was so happy with how this very first mani for the challenge turned out. Alas this was one of the last manis I would do with my long nails but I think the freehand turned out great and the design elements really worked well together. This is one of the few manis from the series that I don’t think I would change anything about, yep, proud of this one.

Skyline2

C is for Copycat – I remember really not being happy about having nubbins for this challenge, I felt like my canvas had pretty much been cut in half. However, inspired by those water-coloured skyline paintings I really still love the concept for these nails. I remember cutting up the little guides was a really fiddly task but I think the layered colours translated well here. This is one of those manis that I think I will do again in the future.

Dark1

D is for Dark – or in my case Darko. This is another concept and freehand design which translated onto my nails exactly how I envisioned in my brain. The tiny rabbit head was fiddly but again worth the effort, in my opinion. A England Fonteyn was the other star of the show for this mani and remains one of my most used and beloved holographic polishes.

FashionModCollages

F is for Fashion – I know, a lot of the beginning of the alphabet made it into this greatest hits but I was really hitting my stride I think with the designs. This I think is one of my most popular manis EVER – I wish that smudge was not on my middle finger and that the lines on my pinky were perfect… these small details probably don’t notice to everyone but sometimes the little things just keep bugging you. Still, delighted with the overall look and the fine detail work on the free hand eye design. This design was also chosen by Mina from Cubbiful for a mani swap we did – check that out HERE.

Lines2

L is for Lines – I chose this design over my I for Inspired design (which I also really am very proud of) because I love how this mani has so much visual impact but could easily be completed on both hands. I am so aware whenever I do freehand designs that really they are “art nails” by which I mean not entirely practical for everyday wear because they take a lot of time and attention and would need you to be either ambidextrous or make decals to be able to wear on both hands. This design took barely any time to do – a bit of colour smushing and then some stamping and it was done. I really want to do these nails again now though, this time with a different background colour palette.

MulticolouredTiger3

M is for Multicoloured – so bright so fun and this time the free hand is VERY achievable on both hands as it is abstract blobs that make up the little tigers face. I took the inspiration for this from a bright card someone had sent me and really enjoyed going through my stash to colour match the bright colours.

Pale2P is for Pale – this mani always makes me smile and is the one and only time I have had MYSELF on a nail. I remember that the yellow totally stained my nails too… Robin Moses had a lot of influence and inspiration in the development of my free hand work and I think this was the most freehanding and acrylic painting I have ever done in a mani. I really enjoyed putting together the mini tutorial for this design too.

Quirky1

Q is for Quirky – This mani was so much fun to wear and I did wear it out until it chipped, I loved the fact my hands didn’t match but they both had the same stamped design… I loved the mini bows… I loved the bright colours… I loved that I used an indie for a change… Yep, I really enjoyed this mani all round. I definitely would advocate for mixnmatch hands – I need to do more double hand manis in the future.

Denim3

T is for Texture – Another mani that I LOVED wearing and like the Lines mani, it was so quick and easy to do on both hands. It was really fun combining distressed/dry brush with stamping and then using a matte topcoat to finish the look. I really don’t do that many layered design manis and perhaps I should experiment with this more – Debbie from Knitty Nails does some amazing double stamped looks.

Honestly, there are other manis that I wanted to include in this list that didn’t make the cut because otherwise this post would have gone on forever – I worked really hard for almost every prompt because for me a high standard of work was totally a part of this challenge. There are a few manis which definitely have room for improvement but I have enjoyed the process of learning, experimenting and making mistakes.

22 comments on “A2Z: Greatest Hits Album

  1. Lo F (BruisedUpDollie)
    May 14, 2015

    They’re all so different and so awesome!

  2. Jenny Olesen
    May 15, 2015

    Those are wonderful! The Quirky one is my favorite. I love the teeny bows! I’ve never seen any that small. :0)

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      May 15, 2015

      If you have a look at the Q for Quirky post I think there is a link to them on Born Pretty Store 😀 I have tiny nails so alaways need tiny decorations lol

  3. nakedwithoutpolish
    May 15, 2015

    Your T mani is so warm and cozy! I love it

  4. Tracey
    May 15, 2015

    They all look amazing! It so nice to see what others came up with for each letter x

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      May 15, 2015

      Thanks Tracey! I agree – I looked forward every week to seeing what everyone else had done.

  5. Sasha
    May 15, 2015

    So hard for me to choose a favorite! They’re all so lovely and you’re very talented. I can’t draw to save my life lmao.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      May 15, 2015

      Confession: I can’t draw either but I am slowly getting better at copying things 😀 The old advice of breaking things down into shapes really does work!

  6. Blingfinger
    May 15, 2015

    So many great and creative designs! I think my favorite is Quirky.

  7. Pingback: On the challenge road again… | Pocket Money Polishes

  8. Lisa N.
    May 15, 2015

    Awesome manicures these all are!

  9. Amy
    May 15, 2015

    They are all so different. It’s great to see them grouped together. Your texture nails totally rock!

  10. MO
    May 15, 2015

    I love so many of these. Really great post x

  11. monismani
    May 15, 2015

    absolutely LOVE the last mani! beautiful!

  12. You’ve got some nice manis in here.

  13. roselynn787
    May 16, 2015

    So many different manis! They are so fantastic but I am especially drawn to the texture one.

  14. mishka824m
    May 16, 2015

    Wow, so many awesome manis!! I think the Cityscape one is my favorite, but there are so many beauties!!

  15. Schette
    May 17, 2015

    Nice Manis !

  16. polishedtechie
    May 18, 2015

    amazing interpretations 🙂 great work dear!!!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
