Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Confessions of a Nail Polish Addict (Tag)

Emma from Imagination in Colour told me about this tag and I thought it would be a great post to put together – I would love to hear some of your thoughts on these questions!

1. What nail polish are you wearing on your nails (and toes) right now?

I am about to get in the bath (after I finish writing this post) and both fingers and toes are very chipped… appalling I know. I currently have on my fingers OPI Embarca Dare-Ya and on my toes OPI Vant To Bite My Neck? As the sun has started shining it is probably about time I got a more spring time appropriate shade on my toesies. Here is a picture from a mini nail addict meeting at the weekend, can you spot my hand?

Foursome

P.S. Thanks to PrettyQuirky, Bionichips&FingerTips and ImaginationInColour for a wonderful weekend. Did you have a nice weekend?

2. What is one nail product you can’t live without?

Glisten&Glow HK Girl Topcoat – I tried to live without it and it was awful. The other item that came to mind is my mini crystal file from Leighton Denny which has its own protective case and is never far from reach – a good file can be really revolutionary for the health of your nubs (or talons).

3. What is your favourite nail brand (mainstream and indie)?

OPI is my go to brand – if I don’t know what to put on my nails then I will usually head straight for that drawer. I love the certainty of knowing I am going to have a great formula and that amazing pro-wide brush for application.

NotLikeMovies

Confession (well not really): I am not into indies. SO, I want to give special mentions to China Glaze and Zoya as other brands I love. Best “drugstore” brand? Probably Barrym.

4. What shape nail do you wear (short or long)?

Short nails are my thing at the moment. Currently I have a squoval/oval shape because it is great for camouflaging when you have awkward corner breaks. I do really like when my nails are square and perfectly straight but it doesn’t happen often. The BEST shape I have ever had is almond and that is definitely my favourite longer nail shape – so elegant.

5. What is your go-to colour?

Errmmm I don’t really have one to be honest – I am not one of those people that has really strong favourite colours and I never have been. It is all very mood dependant and also depends on what I have going on in my life. Sorry rubbish answer but true.

6. What is your favourite nail polish finish?

Creme, every day of the week. I like them when I am doing nail art, I like them when I need something quick on my nails. I love that removal is NEVER a hassle. That said I do love a little bit of sparkle occasionally so shimmer and glassfleck polishes do catch my eye when I want to mix it up. I do have some gorgeous texture and glitter polishes but they are usually for accent nails or special occasions.

10569235_10154520479710383_655991710_n

7. What’s on your nail polish wishlist?

I think there are polishes out there I can be tempted by but I do not have a lemming list really. I have kind of hit a lull at the moment where I feel saturated my polish options, I am also really lucky to have a friend that I can borrow polishes from so there is always something new and shiney to distract me. There are some older OPIs I would like for my collection but I will pick those up when they turn up in my life.

On my polish need list – I really need another bottle of OPI Alpine Snow and OPI Natural Nails Basecoat these are essentials and mine are all but gone.

8. When do you usually paint your nails (morning, afternoon or evening)?

Evening/in the middle of the night. I can’t settle for long enough during the day and always fear I would chip them or smudge them straight after. I am not a morning person, I like to keep mornings efficient and to the point… doing nails in the morning would not be fun for me.

9. What’s your top nail tip you swear by?

Good basecoat and topcoat combo makes the world of difference to the life and look of your mani. Fast dry is great for impatient souls like me.

10. What nail polish do you regret buying?

Ugghh so many things… well… polishes that I could have lived without or that I spent more money on than I should have. Trying to think if I have any polishes in my collection still that are outright disasters or ugly… I don’t think I do… OH China Glaze Pack Lightly – formula is a mission and I don’t really like the colour on me.

ChinaGlazePackLightly

11. Neons or pastels? Brights or darks?

I think all of these have their time and place and can all be WONDERFUL. I only really picked up my first neon polishes at the start of the year and they’re so much fun, that said, I do probably wear them the least of all these options.

12. What is your holy grail white, black and nude polish?

Holy grail white is OPI Alpine Snow. I can’t even remember the last time I wore black polish but I actually love OPI Emotions which is a black texture polish. Nude polish? Hmmmm I like quite a few different nude polishes. I think I have used China Glaze Fast Track the most of the ones I own though.

This is much truer to colour and was my first ever water spot mani.

13. What is one brand you want to try but haven’t yet?

I don’t think there is one. I would love to buy some more Illamasqua polishes in the future – the couple I own have been really amazing. Also I would like to add some more Zoyas to my collection – some of their nudes are really beautiful and their shimmers ❤ ❤ ❤

7 comments on “Confessions of a Nail Polish Addict (Tag)

  1. Lisa N.
    May 18, 2015

    So fun reading your answers to these questions!

  2. lastcontrast
    May 19, 2015

    Cute post, I might try this tag too.

  3. Sasha
    May 19, 2015

    This is a really cool and fun tag. Let’s you get to know more about the person you follow!

  4. Tracey
    May 20, 2015

    Interesting post 🙂 loved reading

  5. MO
    May 21, 2015

    So much fun…thank you for a fab weekend. Such a good post too. Hugs x

  6. Catherine Dream
    July 20, 2015

    Aaaaargh, I LOVED reading this post – so cool to peek into your nail polish addict brain ❤

    Magenta! Too close to pink, nope nope nope for me – girl, you met up with other crazies?! Must've been so awesome, to meet other hobbyists of the same love : )

    OPI is def my fav too. Oh, I just adore this post. : )

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2015 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
