Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says… (Sun) Safety First!

Hi all! Sorry I have been MIA for a while. I have been gallivanting around and now that I am back at work they have been keeping me extremely busy! Since summer is finally here (yay!) the plans keep on piling on! I am so happy that it is summer time but the number one thing everyone needs to keep in mind is to practice safe “sunning”! The skin is the largest organ and it gets the most damage with bruises, cuts and scrapes etc. Let’s try to protect our skin this summer and avoid the harmful sun burn! I don’t know about you guys but I hate it when sun burn (or sun poisoning) ruins my plans! I have way too much going on this summer to let sun burn stand in my way! In addition, the sun gives us wrinkles and sun-spot and who wants that?! Ummmmm NO ONE! Here are my tips how I am going to keep my skin fresh and sun-burn free this summer.

  1. Face Sunscreen:

We need to apply sunscreen every day before leaving the house and that includes your face too. I know a lot of make-up these days has an SPF built in but sometimes that just is not enough. You don’t have to go crazy and spend a ton of money on face sunblock, Neutrogena has a few varieties that you can choose from at your local store and all under $15! Neutrogena is known to have non-greasy, light-weight formula’s that are work great if you have sensitive skin.

Neutrogena Healthy Defense Daily Moisturizer with Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 30:02-totalbeauty-logo-13-best-sunscreens-for-your-face

Neutrogena Clear Face Liquid Lotion Sunblock (Breakout Free) with SPF 30:

01-totalbeauty-logo-13-best-sunscreens-for-your-face

Neutrogena Pure and Free Liquid Sunscreen with SPF 50:

N P&F

With all the choices that are available there is no reason we shouldn’t be protecting our face! Like I said before no one wants wrinkles or sun spots!

  1. walmart brandBody Sunblock:

There are so many different sunscreens out there and sometimes at the store it can become overwhelming which sunblock to pick! Do I get the lotion? Spray sunblock? Which SPF? Etc. Personally I like a lotion for my face and a spray for my body. I can’t stand it when I have sticky hands! Especially all covered in sand! Ewwy! I chose my SPF based on what I am doing. If I’m going to the beach at home I’ll stick with 30 but if I’m going on vacation and the sun is much stronger I go for 50.   As far as brands go, my favorite spray on sunblock is believe it or not Wal-Mart’s in house brand “Equate”. It stays on, it’s not sticky what so ever, light weight. The best part is I don’t burn I actually get brown for once! Plus it’s cheaper than the brand names! This does sell out in my surrounding Wal-Mart’s so if I cannot find it I turn to the Banana Boat spray, Coppertone spray or depending on my mood and price Coppertone Water Babies. If it’s good enough for sweet baby skin, it’s good enough for me!

water babies


  1. Hats and Sunglasses:

This one is common sense here people. If you’re going to the beach throw on a big floppy hat, look fabulous with some big dark lenses and just rock it. If you are running around town just throw on a baseball hat, sun glasses and pull off a super cute casual look. This isn’t rocket science. Here are a few super cute summer hats:

Target: $14.99

target hat

LL Bean: $29.95

ll bean hat

Roxy: $24.00

roxy hat

Tom Ford: $380

tom ford

Gucci: $375

Gucci

Roberto Cavalli: $420   (How fierce and fabulous are these! *Drool*!)

Roberto

  1. Hydrate

Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! Keep your skin glowy and smooth with H2O! A rule of thumb is to drink about 64oz of water a day. Water can get boring so try adding fruit like cucumber, strawberries, and mint for added flavor!

  1. Vitamin D Fix

Did you know that you can get your vitamin D fix besides the sun? I sure didn’t until I found a blog by Oscar’s called Melanoma/ Skin Cancer Detection and Prevention Month. It is actually very fascinating, who knew that fatty fish and egg yolks had vitamin D! Also, if you’re in the NY or NJ area you can check out Oscar Insurance, as they are a great resource because they truly help their members take control and be proactive with their health. You can check them out online for more information on their health insurance services.   Sometimes we can be forgetful and a burn or two will happen so if it does try these remedies!

coolaCoola: Environmental Repair Plus Radical Recover After- Sun Lotion: Save the skin you’re in with this ultra-moisturizing and deep-soothing lotion that uses organic Agave’s natural moisture binding mechanisms for environmental defense and calming sunburn. This miracle plant provides superior hydration and promotes collagen synthesis while offering UV boosting protection and clinically proven relief from sunburn. Rich with organic ingredients, Radical Recovery After-Sun Lotion will nourish, repair and keep skin youthful and naturally glowing all year long. Plus it smells really good!

Besides the obvious home remedies like taking Advil, cool bath or compress, keeping hydrated and using aloe gel, etc try some of these natural home remedies to alleviate sun burn pain. I bet most of you already have these products in your pantry! Vinegar: pour vinegar into the bath or use as a compress it will promote healing by balancing the pH of your sunburned skin. It will also help with the pain. This is a go-to remedy of mine. I might smell weird but at least I’m not in too much pain.   Pvinegarotato Juice: The juice of a raw potato can be used to treat sunburn. Rub slices of potato onto burned skin or grate raw potato, gather it in clean cheesecloth or a soft clean rag and apply the poultice directly to your skin. WebMD says: A chemical in the potato peel might also prevent bacteria from attaching to cells. Potatoes are a source of vitamin C, iron, riboflavin and carbohydrates. Baking Soda: Baking soda neutralizes acids and is often used to soothe babies’ diaper rash. Pour a half cup to a cup of baking soda in your cool bath. Or, make a paste by mixing baking soda with a few drops of water. Apply it to itchy skin. Prevention Magazine says: Instead of toweling off, let the (baking soda bath solution) dry on your skin. It is completely nontoxic, and it will soothe the pain.

*Disclaimer- I am not a doctor nor do I work in the medical field. Practice these home remedies at your own risk. In cases of severe sunburn (i.e. sun poisoning) please seek medical attention*

I know our goal is to get awesome color during the summer but we need to think before we go run out naked! Without sunscreen on that is basically what you are doing. Just running around in your birthday suit. So the next time it is a nice day, think, be safe and throw on some sunscreen. Red skin is not a lovely color on anyone but brown is! Sunscreen can help you get that color in a safe, protective way!   Safe sunning everyone!!! I hope everyone has an awesome summer!

As always, thank you for reading Stephanie Says.

Xoxo, Stephanie

Follow me on:

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

Email: pmpstephaniesays@gmail.com

2 comments on “Stephanie Says… (Sun) Safety First!

  1. Lisa N.
    June 25, 2015

    Totally agree! I never used to wear sunscreen but now I do everyday 🙂

  2. Sasha
    June 27, 2015

    Thanks for sharing this! I know that there are a lot of people that forget these easy things that can be done to help protect the skin.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2015 by in Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
