Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

My Desert Island Picks

DesertIsland1

Trapped on a tropical island with just a handful of polishes to keep your tips and toes looking good? This is not a post about what I would pick if I could only have these polishes for the rest of my life but rather a limited selection to suit the location.  Here are MY picks for desert island colours, I would love to hear yours! I decided to go with nearly all OPI because it’s my favourite brand and the formula is so reliable, but that’s just my preference.

Green1My first pick to take with me to a desert island is OPI Green on the Runway – the green to brown duochrome on this is gorgeous and will look great in the sunshine. This colour reminds me of palm trees – perfect for days spent in the shade reading a book and waiting for rescue while sipping a cocktail, no? This would also be perfect for snakeskin or lizard inspired mani.

This polish is a limited edition shade from last years Coca Cola Collection but if you can get your hands on it then I definitely think it is worth it – I have never seen another polish quite like this one.

I am currently wearing this shade on my toes and it looks great with metallic sandals! Just be careful you don’t do yourself damage waving your feet around watching it flip from green to bronzey brown.

Sky1

OPI Sky’s My Limit is my blue of choice – definitely makes me think of beautiful seas with peaceful tides. This is another limited edition, this time from last years Mustang collection. It is that great medium blue with shifty light gold shimmer in it. There are however similar polishes out there that you could pick up if you can’t find this one (Zoya Charla for example).

This is one of Mummy Smith’s favourite blues from my collection and we used it a lot last year with dolphin and palm tree images from MoYou stamping plates.  Another polish I considered for my sea blue category is Zoya Muse which I think would be STUNNING in tropical sunshine with all those iridescent glitters catching the light but I have only worn that a couple of times so this one won out.

This year there are a lot more saturated turquoise and teal polishes around in the summer releases but I don’t personally go for those colours on my nails as they tend to stain me and I just don’t like how they look with my yellow undertones.

daul1

Zoya Daul just makes me think of Arabian Nights – this jewel toned purple  that is over-saturated with golden shimmer just says desert luxury to my brain. This does take 2-3 coats but it is so worth it as it builds up. I am not sure which collection this comes from but it is an older one, I have seen this polish for sale from my normal Zoya seller so it is definitely still out there.

When the sun goes down the stars come out this polish would be my choice – a little bit of mystery as the gold catches the light of the tiki torches or the bonfire. A great alternative, to traditional darks, for the summer time, this will also have a startling glisten in the daylight.

I am really visualising this desert island, can you tell?

I had no idea I was so drawn to shimmers in the summer but apparently I am. I suppose this is to compensate for the fact I am not really into holos (I know, I know… burn the non-believer). I am sure a lot of people will be wondering where the holos are on my list and I guess that will explain it.

Now, if you have followed this blog for a while you will know that my favourite finish is creme so after all these lovely shimmers let’s get down to business with some perfect island staples. It was so difficult to settle on a polish but after ten minutes of staring at my stash and fifteen minutes of debating with myself and others I decided to choose China Glaze Peachy Keen. 

This is a slightly muted peach that applies perfectly in 1-2 coats. I think this shade would be flattering on most skin tones – perfect for fingers and toes. This is a lovely colour to compliment most desert island outfits (from bright maxis to light linens) with just the right pop of colour.

I considered popping a true neutral polish on this list – something nude. I also considered something in the much brighter neon family (Flip Flop Fantasy I hear you all scream) but honestly, this is the polish I would reach for out of the options I pulled off my shelf and this is all about MY island picks so I wanted to stay true to myself.

Cabana2

What is a desert island without sunshine? OPI I Just Can’t Cope-acabana  is a perfect formula true yellow. I think it can be hard to wear yellow and have it feel appropriate but this is one of those times. I love this with graphic nail art over the top but it really does look lovely by itself. Applies flawlessly in 1-2 coats which is rare for a yellow. You could create a lovely gradient with this and Peachy Keen too.

This is from the OPI Brazil Collection 2014 which feels like it was only this spring but I think that may just be because I haven’t bought any polish for a long time. I have reached a saturation point in my collection where I have covered nearly all bases. I have however just seen the promo for the Venice collection coming out this fall and I can definitely see some fantastic staples in there that just might fall into my basket.

ANYWAY my bottle of this polish is showing some serious usage and I am just hoping that when I eventually run out I will be able to get another one.

So what do you think? I didn’t include any glitters in this post because the ones I wanted to pick were limited editions and I didn’t want this post to just have HTF polishes in. No neons or holos I am sure seems like a travesty to many and I am not hating on them, they just didn’t make my personal cut. Neons I got really into over the winter but now it is bright outside I am feeling a little intimidated… should I just get over it already? Let me know if you want to see a neon mani! Also, if you want to do a blog post like this then definitely show me and feel free to borrow my banner, I would love to read other people’s responses.

10 comments on “My Desert Island Picks

  1. Lisa N.
    June 28, 2015

    Great picks!

  2. Sasha
    June 29, 2015

    I would love to see you do a neon mani! You choose some really nice polishes. I have OPI The Sky’s My Limit and STILL haven’t tried it out yet. Daul just went on my lemmings list lol.

  3. fivezero
    June 29, 2015

    Awesome picks! 😀 My desert island picks would definitely have to include a red.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      June 29, 2015

      I cannot tell you how hard I argued with myself doing this post and I really wanted to include a red but with 5 picks I decided to not include it for this destination…I have a feeling there will be a red at the other destination seasonal challenges I am thinking of doing. Which red would you go for?

      • fivezero
        June 29, 2015

        OPI Double Decker Red, sadly d/c 🙂 It’s a plain red cream, but I love it.

        I am glad you did this post! True, you picked better colors for a sunny desert island!

      • Pocket Money Polishes
        June 29, 2015

        That is a lovely red – I have seen pictures but never in person. I think my personal favourite red (as of right now…) is OPI First Date At The Golden Gate mainly for the vintage vibe of the rusty tones in the colour. OPI keep releasing reds but I haven’t really bought any since the San Fran collection.
        Did you pick up any of the Gwen reds?

      • fivezero
        June 30, 2015

        No, I haven’t, though I have wanted to! ❤ Gwen!

        I have to check out FD@tGG! It sounds gorgeous. 🙂

      • Pocket Money Polishes
        June 30, 2015

        It really is. Slightly thinner formila but g2g in 2 coats.

  4. Tracey
    June 29, 2015

    Great idea for a post. I would find this super hard to do, and I don’t have many expensive polishes in my collection x

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      June 29, 2015

      It doesn’t have to be expensive polishes! I just chose these cause I like the formula, the colours and the finishes for the setting 🙂 Just polishes I love. You have some stunning colours in your stash!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2015 by in Mainstream and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
