Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Summer Inspired: Fourth of July

Yes, I know I am English but I can’t resist doing Fourth of July manicures – the tri colour and stars and stripes theme is a really fun yearly challenge for me. I used the last of my OPI Alpine Snow for this and it was totally worth it.

FourthJuly2I used two coats of my crusty goopy left overs and to this polish’s credit it still just about self leveled and no major bubbles or bald patches. I am not kidding when I say I scraped the brush around the bottle to get the leftovers out. I finished the base with a coat of topcoat to speed up drying and just even out any imperfections for the next step.

FourthJulyNails1That’s right – the colours are sharpies! To get this water colour effect I applied the sharpie ink onto some tin foil and then spritzed with some alcohol which releases the pigment into a paint. I applied with one of my Born Pretty Store brushes starting with the blue and once that was dry I added the red. This really has a personality of its own and the layered colours do all the work for you in making the effect. This was my first time trying this technique and the colours did cling a little to my dry cuticles HOWEVER when I removed this manicure it didn’t actually stain them. So just a little bit of careful application and you’ll be fine. The other thing to note is that topcoat does lighten the colours – much the same as with actual watercolours the dried look is lighter than the wet. Additional note: DO NOT put your sharpie in alcohol… you will wreck the pen. I picked up my set of 18 colours for just £8.99 in WH Smith and can’t wait to do more nails – I was really impressed that even on my super shiney HK Girl topcoat this does not ball up – it wants to cling to that polish.

FourthJuly3For final touches I added a single silver star stud (I am not sure where I got this from but it comes in a wheel with lots of other silver and gold shaped studs) and this great pop art statue of liberty stamped design from BP38 which is the American themed stamping plate from the second set BPS released. Don’t forget you can get 10% off with my exclusive XPG10 code. 

So what do you think? I had so much fun doing these nails and they were so super quick. What do you think? Are you doing your nails for Fourth of July? Whether in the UK or US or anywhere else in the world I hope you have a great week!

Used to Create This Look

Tools:

Products:

  • OPI Alpine Snow
9 comments on “Summer Inspired: Fourth of July

  1. Diana Lupica
    July 2, 2015

    They look reeally good! Lovely post! x

  2. ABeautifulWhim
    July 2, 2015

    Super cute – and really creative and original! Nice job

  3. Lisa N.
    July 2, 2015

    These look great!

  4. Sasha
    July 3, 2015

    Love it. Really nice. For 4th of July

  5. MO
    July 6, 2015

    Loves it! I was surprised when I read you’d used Sharpies. From the pictures I would never have guessed. I think the star sets it off perfectly too x

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      July 9, 2015

      Thank you lovely! I love my little embellishments and I have so many of them I really should use them more often.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2015 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
