Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Weekend Nails: Neon and Glitter

Ok so I have been wearing this mani for a couple of days now so it is showing a little wear and tear but I wanted to share it because I wanted to talk about a couple of the polishes I used for this combo.

Flipflopglitter1First things first, China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy – a group of vloggers recently did a collab on their most used polishes and this polish was mentioned without fail in EVERY video. I bought it a little while a go when I was going through a neon buying phase but haven’t really looked at it since. A couple of days ago in one of the Facebook nail polish groups people were all discussing how poorly this polish wore on them so I thought with the sun being out this would be a great time for me to give this polish a go and see how it did on me. Firstly, this polish doesn’t need undies to make it pop – this is bright in most lightings but really wows in that sunset lighting outside. I needed just two coats for good coverage however this polish is a bit patchy on first coat and does need a light hand (and good drying time between layers) to prevent bald spots. As I mentioned at the top of this post… I am a couple of days in with this mani and I have no chips – just some cuticle unevenness which is probably more to do with my application than the polish. This does dry to a demi-matte finish so topcoat is going to add shine and is, as ever, a crucial part of prolonging your mani’s life.

FlipFlopGlitters2I used this mani as an excuse to try out the two newest polishes to my collection – these are actually the first polishes I have bought in a very long time. They are OPI Comet in the Sky (mixed black matte and iridescentand OPI Snowglobe Trotter (mixed white matte and iridescent) which came out and sold out in the Gwen Stefani Holiday collection last year. I really wanted them on release but didn’t get them and then couldn’t get them. Recently the Gwen collection has been appearing in dribs and drabs on the clearance websites and I found these on Fragrance Direct for just £3.49 each (plus £1.99 tracked shipping on the order). BARGAIN.

Flipflopglitters4For the white base I used Barrym Matt White which is an ok white in 2-3 coats but not my beloved OPI Alpine Snow – the lack of the pro-wide brush makes such a difference. ANYWAY, back to these glitters. We have seen monochromatic mixes before but it is a mix in the iridescent sizes AND colours as well as the matte glitters that really make these polishes stand out. On my pinky in the previous picture you can see one light coat and here on my thumb you can see two more generous coats – so the coverage can be as sparse or as dense as you like. Did find the bigger glitters needed a bit of swirling to be persuaded onto my brush but it wasn’t a big deal for either of these polishes. These are going to look great over the entire spectrum of colours and create different looks as those iridescent glitters shift – the white matte glitters in Snowglobe Trotter are opaque so stand out boldly on their background. I am so glad to add these to my OPI collection and look forward to using them more in the future.

What do you think of these polishes? I hadn’t really planned on sharing these as they were kind of personal experiments but I hope this has been a useful post.

 

 

7 comments on “Weekend Nails: Neon and Glitter

  1. Lisa N.
    July 6, 2015

    Your nails for the weekend looks great! 🙂

  2. Cindi
    July 6, 2015

    I have Flip Flop Fantasy and honestly I think I’ve worn it once. If I remember correctly I purchased it maybe 3 summers back? Yeah, one wearing that’s it. I do tend to gravitate to blues, greens and purples though and rarely wear pinks, oranges, or warm shades so that is probably why. I do like that white glitter a lot.

    • Pocket Money Polishes
      July 9, 2015

      I go through phases with my colour preferences, this is the first year I have even really considered wearing neon polish and I still don’t reach for it as a summer musthave (unlike most people). I have warm tone skin so I do prefer warmer tones on me, but I will pretty much wear anything given the right mood.

      I LOVE the white glitter – going to be BIG for me come winter time. So snowflakey 😀

  3. Sasha
    July 8, 2015

    I have both of those OPI Glitter Toppers which I found at my local dollar store for $3.00 so of course I had to grab them. I haven’t gotten around to trying them out yet but seeing your post really makes me want too.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2015 by in Mainstream, Review and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
